< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup: Maidan Wardak trounce by Faryab by 22 runs

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup
Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup

Maidan Wardak Province registered a well-earned 22 run win over Faryab Province in a Group B encounter of the Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020.

At the Khost Cricket Stadium, Faryab opted to field. Led by captain Mohammad Sardar's 67-ball 46 with four boundaries, Maidan posted 235 for nine in their 50 overs. Useful support roles by Sediqullah Atal (39) and Islam Zazai (39) helped in increasing Maidan's score.

Towards the end of the innings Baryaly's 11-ball 26 with two boundaries and three sixes provided a crucial end over impetus.

The key bowlers for Faryab were Zahid Zakhail (3-28) and Mohammad Saleem (2-35).

In their chase, Faryab was well served initially by opener Ezat Barakzai (57: 110b, 6x4, 1x6). Later, captain Hajid Murad Muradi (44: 73b, 4x4) shared a 92 run fifth wicket stand with Barakzai. Towards the end of the innings Ijaz (23) and Ibrahim (37:33b, 1x4, 4x6) played crucial hands, but the target kept getting out of hand. In the end Faryab finished on 213 for eight in their 50 overs to lose by 22 runs. The key wicket-takers for Maidan Wardak were player of the match Baryaly (2-42), Mohammadullah Hamkar (3-53) and Nasratullah (2-23).


Match Summary - Maidan Wardak Province v Faryab Province, Group B, APC Cup 2020


Maidan Wardak Province 235-9 (50)

Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Sadiq Farhad-6.6 ov), 2-83 (Sediqullah Atal-16.2 ov), 3-148 (Islam Zazai-30.6 ov), 4-171 (Noor-ul-Haq-35.5 ov), 5-174 (Zia-ul-Haq-36.5 ov), 6-177 (Mohammad Sardar-38.1 ov), 7-177 (Faisal-39.2 ov), 8-186 (Sayed Nasratullah-42.1 ov), 9-225 (Baryaly-46.6 ov)


Faryab Province 213-8 (50)

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Juma Gul-0.4 ov), 2-28 (Zahid Zakhail-4.3 ov), 3-48 (Hidayat-9.5 ov), 4-49 (Abdul Hadi-10.4 ov), 5-141 (Haji Murad Muradi-35.4 ov), 6-147 (Ezat Barakzai-37.5 ov), 7-198 (Ibrahim-46.5 ov), 8-205 (Mohammad Saleem-48.4 ov)


Result - Maidan Wardak Province won by 22 runs


Playing XIs

Maidan Wardak Province: Sadiq Farhad, Sediqullah Atal, Islam Zazai, Noor-ul-Haq, Zia-ul-Haq, Mohammad Sardar (captain), Faisal, Sayed Nasratullah, Baryaly, Mohammadullah Hamkar, Irfan Safi


Faryab Province: Juma Gul, Zahid Zakhail, Hidayat, Abdul Hadi, Haji Murad Muradi (captain), Ezat Barakzai, Ibrahim, Mohammad Saleem, Zohaib, Ijaz, Eid Mohammad

©Cricket World 2020