< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup: Saleem spells Faryab's narrow win

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup
Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup

Fast bowler Mohammad Saleem's terrific spell aided Faryab Province's narrow six run win over Nangarhar Province in a Group B clash in the Afghansitan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020 on Sunday afternoon.

At the Mis Ainak Cricket Ground in Khost, Nangarhar opted to field. Faryab posted 228 for nine in their allotted 50 overs. Opener Juma Gul (43: 57b, 5x4, 1x6) held the innings together initially. Later, Ijaz (53: 69b, 5x4) shared a 104 run fifth wicket stand with captain Haji Murad Muradi (58: 63b, 5x4, 3x6). For Nangarhar the best bowler was Abdullah Adil (5-44). Batin Shah (2-33) supported Adil very well with the ball.

In their chase, Nangarhar seemed to progress well with a 117 run second wicket stand between Tamim Surkhorodi (58: 94b, 8x4, 1x6) and Bahir Shah (84: 103b, 9x4, 1x6). But thereafter there was a collapse as Saleem's devastating spell of six for 56 destroyed Nangarhar. Also supporting Saleem was opening bowler Fazal Haque (3-35).

In the end, Nangarhar was bowled out for 222 in 47.3 overs handing a narrow win to Faryab.

Match Summary-Faryab Province v Nangarhar Province, Group B, Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020
Faryab Province 228-9 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Hidayat-5.3 ov), 2-38 (Zahid Zakhail-9.4 ov), 3-67 (Khairullah-21.5 ov), 4-72 (Juma Gul-23.2 ov), 5-176 (Haji Murad Muradi-42.5 ov), 6-195 (Ijaz-46.1 ov), 7-222 (Ibrahim-48.6 ov), 8-228 (Abdul Hadi-49.5 ov), 9-228 (Fazal Haque-49.6 ov)

Nangarhar Province 222 (47.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Bahar Shinwari-0.6 ov), 2-128 (Tamim Surkhorodi-29.2 ov), 3-168 (Abid Mohammadi-35.3 ov), 4-179 (Bahir Shah-37.1 ov), 5-185 (Mohammad Ishaq-39.3 ov), 6-204 (Tariq Stanikzai-42.1 ov), 7-207 (Fitratullah Khawari-43.2 ov), 8-211 (Mohammad Ibrahim-43.6 ov), 9-218 (Shawkat Zaman-46.6 ov), 10-222 (Batin Shah-47.3 ov)

Result-Faryab Province won by six wickets

Match Scorecard & Stats + Analytics

Playing XI
Faryab Province: Hidayat, Zahid Zakhail, Khairullah, Juma Gul, Haji Murad Muradi (captain), Ijaz, Ibrahim, Abdul Hadi, Fazal Haque, Mohammad Saleem, Zohaib

Nangarhar Province: Bahar Shinwari, Tamim Surkhorodi, Abid Mohammadi, Bahir Shah, Mohammad Ishaq, Tariq Stanikzai, Fitratullah Khawari, Mohammad Ibrahim, Abdullah Adil, Shawkat Zaman (captain), Batin Shah