< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup: Shahs lord over Maidan with tremendous efforts

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup

Nangarhar Province started their campaign in Group B of the Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020 in fine style with a massive 84 run win over Maidan Wardak Province.


Match Summary - Nangarhar Province v Maidan Wardak Province, Match 1, Group B, Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020

Nangarhar Province 270-6 (50)

Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Nasir Khan-3.1 ov), 2-59 (Zubaid Akbari-14.5 ov), 3-145 (Tariq Stanikzai-33.6 ov), 4-215 (Bahir Shah-42.5 ov), 5-244 (Shawkat Zaman-46.5 ov), 6-270 (Tahir Khan-49.6 ov)


Maidan Wardak Province 186 (43.2)

Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Wasim Zazai-3.4 ov), 2-58 (Sadiq Farhad-10.2 ov), 3-60 (Noor-ul-Haq-13.3 ov), 4-64 (Sediqullah Atal-14.5 ov), 5-126 (Mohammad Sardar-32.6 ov), 6-173 (Imran Mohammadi-40.4 ov), 7-173 (Zia-ul-Haq-41.1 ov), 8-175 (Sayed Nasratullah-41.4 ov), 9-186 (Baryaly-43.1 ov), 10-186 (Irfan Safi-43.2 ov)


Result - Nangarhar Province won by 84 runs

Match Scorecard & Stats + Analysis



At the Khost Cricket Stadium, Khost, Maidan opted to field. Nangarhar posted 270 for six in their 50 overs. The star of the show was one-drop batsman Bahir Shah (101: 120b, 11x4, 1x6). He helds the innings together first with a 76 run third wicket stand with Tariq Stanikzai (37) and then with a 70 run fourth wicket association with captain Shawkat Zaman (46: 34b, 4x4, 1x6). Later Tahir Khan used the long handle to good effect making 35 off 26 balls with one boundary and three sixes.


For Maidan the best bowler was Mohammadullah Hamkar with figures of four for 55.


In their chase, Maidan lost wickets at regular intervals. Opener Sediqullah Atal (44: 55b, 7x4) tried to hold the innings together initially. Later, a fifth wicket stand of 62 between captain Mohammad Sardar (32: 53b, 3x4) and Zia-ul-haq (55: 83b, 3x4) revived the innings for a brief while. But then a late order collapse ended all hopes of a win. In the end Maidan was bowled out for 186 in 43.2 overs handing Nangarhar a 84 run win.


The star with the ball for Nangarhar was Batin Shah with figures of five for 11 in just 6.2 overs.



Nangarhar Province: Nasir Khan, Zubaid Akbari, Tariq Stanikzai, Bahir Shah, Shawkat Zaman (captain), Tahir Khan, Fitratullah Khawari, Abdullah Adil, Batin Shah, Mohammad Ibrahim


Maidan Wardak: Wasim Zazai, Sadiq Farhad, Noor-ul-Haq, Sediqullah Atal, Mohammad Sardar (captain), Imran Mohammadi, Zia-ul-Haq, Sayed Nasratullah, Baryaly, Irfan Safi, Mohammadullah Hamkar

© Cricket World 2020