< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup: Tariq Stanikzai scripts Nangarhar's impressive win


Tariq Stanikzai's all-round performance helped Nangarhar Province beat Kandahar Province by 53 runs in a Group B match of the Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020.

At Mis Ainak Cricket Ground, Kandahar opted to field. The stars for Nangarhar were Bahir Shah (59: 80b, 5x4), Tariq Stanikzai (52: 61b, 5x4, 2x6) and Tahir Khan (63: 61b, 5x4, 3x6).

Bahir and player of the match Tariq Stanikzai shared a 73 run fifth wicket stand to help revive the innings. Bahir and Tahir Khan thereafter shared a sixth wicket stand to further consolidate the innings. Late order strikes by Mohammad Ishaq (27) and Batin Shah (28) helped Nangarhar finish at 274 for nine in their 50 overs.

In their response, Kandahar started off decently. It required useful knocks by Ainuddin Kakar (60: 51b, 3x4, 5x6) and Waqarullah Ishaq (62: 83b, 5x4) to revive the chase, but middle and late-order collapse dashed all Kandahar hopes. In the end, Kandahar was bowled out for 221 in 43.3 overs to lose by 53 runs. The key wicket-taker for Kanadhar was Wali Agha (5-64).

Tariq Stanikzai (2-39) also weighed in with a key spell, alongside Batin Shah's two for 34.


Match Summary-Nangarhar Province v Kandahar Province, Group B, APC Cup 2020


Nangarhar Province 274-9 (50)

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Zubaid Akbari-1.5 ov), 2-30 (Tamim Surkhorodi-7.3 ov), 3-31 (Nasir Khan-8.5 ov), 4-43 (Shawkat Zaman-12.3 ov), 5-116 (Tariq Stanikzai-27.3 ov), 6-194 (Bahir Shah-39.4 ov), 7-223 (Tahir Khan-44.3 ov), 8-268 (Batin Shah-48.6 ov), 9-274 (Mohammad Ishaq-49.6 ov)


Kandahar Province 221 (43.3)

Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Abdul Malik-7.4 ov), 2-76 (Nasibullah Sherdali-13.4 ov), 3-151 (Ainuddin Kakar-24.3 ov), 4-151 (Munir Ahmad-25.3 ov), 5-161 (Mohammad Ibrahim-27.2 ov), 6-178 (Abdul Razaq-33.1 ov), 7-208 (Abdullah Tarakhail-39.4 ov), 8-212 (Khyal Mohammad-41.5 ov), 9-221 (Waqarullah Ishaq-43.2 ov), 10-221 (Abdul Baqi-43.3 ov)


Result - Nangarhar Province won by 53 runs

Match Scorecard & Stats + Analysis


Playing XIs

Nangarhar Province: Zubaid Akbari, Tamim Surkhorodi, Nasir Khan, Shawkat Zaman (captain), Tariq Stanikzai, Bahir Shah, Tahir Khan, Batin Shah, Mohammad Ishaq, Abdullah Adil, Wali Agha


Kandahar Province: Abdul Malik, Nasibullah Sherdali, Ainuddin Kakar, Munir Ahmad (captain), Mohammad Ibrahim, Abdul Razaq, Abdullah Tarakhail, Khyal Mohammad, Waqarullah Ishaq, Abdul Baqi, Mohammad Alam

©Cricket World 2020