< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup: Zakhail scripts Faryab's hard earned win

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup

Zahid Zakhail's brilliant all-round effort helped Faryab Province start their campaign in the Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020 with a hard fought 20 run win over Kandahar Province.

Match Summary-Faryab Province v Kandahar Province, Match 2, Group B APC Cup 2020


Faryab Province 221 (47.2)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Juma Gul-0.1 ov), 2-48 (Ezat Barakzai-13.1 ov), 3-78 (Hidayat-19.2 ov), 4-79 (Haji Murad Muradi-20.3 ov), 5-105 (Ijaz-26.4 ov), 6-156 (Ibrahim-35.5 ov), 7-178 (Zahid Zakhail-40.2 ov), 8-187 (Mohammad Saleem-43.1 ov), 9-195 (Rustam Niazai-44.3 ov), 10-221 (Fazal Haque-47.2 ov)


Kandahar Province 201 (47.5)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Nasibullah Sherdali-0.1 ov), 2-3 (Abdul Razaq-2.6 ov), 3-98 (Ahmad Zahir-24.4 ov), 4-116 (Najibullah-30.5 ov), 5-138 (Mohammad Ibrahim-34.5 ov), 6-154 (Waqarullah Ishaq-38.2 ov), 7-155 (Abdullah Tarakhail-38.6 ov), 8-189 (Munir Ahmad-45.5 ov), 9-201 (Abdul Baqi-47.3 ov), 10-201 (Mohammad Alam-47.5 ov)


Result - Faryab Province won by 20 runs

At the Mis Ainak Cricket Ground, Khost, Kandahar opted to field. Faryab posted 221 in 47.2 overs. This was thanks mainly to the effort of player of the match Zahid Zakhail (100: 109b, 7x4, 6x6). Zakhail held the innings together and was the seventh man out in the innings. He shared a crucial 51 run sixth wicket stand with Ibrahim (26) which put the innings on track. For Kandahar the key wicket-takers were Khyal Mohammad (3-41), Waqarullah Ishaq (2-33) and Abdul Baqi (2-27).


The chase for Kandahar was progressing well but they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. A 95 run third wicket stand between Najibullah (59: 100b, 6x4, 1x6) and Ahmad Zahir (38) revived the innings initially. Thereafter, skipper Munir Ahmad kept the chase afloat with a 64 ball 58 with five boundaries and two sixes. Then a late-order collapse crashed any hopes of a win as Kandahar was bowled out for 201 in 47.5 overs.


The star with the ball was also Zakhail who ended with figures of four for 43, alongside Mohammad Saleem's three for 56 and Fazal Haque two for 31.




Faryab Province: Juma Gul, Ezat Barakzai, Hidayat, Haji Murad Muradi (captain), Ijaz, Ibrahim, Zahid Zakhail, Mohammad Saleem, Rustam Niazai, Fazal Haque, Zohaib


Kandahar Province: Nasibullah Sherdali, Abdul Razaq, Ahmad Zahir, Najibullah, Mohammad Ibrahim, Waqarullah Ishaq, Abdullah Tarakhail, Munir Ahmad (captain), Abdul Baqi, Mohammad Alam, Khyal Mohammad

©Cricket World 2020