< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan vs Zimbabwe in UAE 2021: Full squads, Fixtures & Preview - All you need to know


The Afghanistan vs Zimbabwe series will comprise 2 Tests and 3 T20Is and will run from March 2nd to March 20th, in the UAE.

Live Scores and Stats - Afghanistan v Zimbabwe Series

Both the teams have announced their test squads, which include a few names along unexpected lines. All the matches will be played at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The teams are confident of hosting all the fixtures smoothly after a white-ball series between Ireland and Afghanistan was recently played in the UAE, following a few positive Covid-19 cases in the UAE vs Afghanistan fixtures. This, of course, comes on the back of a successful IPL 2020 in the UAE.

Two test matches between the teams will be followed by 3 T20Is. The tests though will not be a part of the World Test Championship. The first test begins on March 2.

The 19-member Afghanistan Test squad features eight uncapped players, namely Bahir Shah Mohboob, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Sayed Ahmed Shirzad, Abdul Malik, Munir Ahmad Kakar, Shahidullah Kamal, Saleem Safi and Zia Ur Rahman Akbar. 

While mystery spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman has not been picked, veteran all-rounder Mohammad Nabi remains unavailable. Rashid Khan, after sustaining a finger injury in the ongoing PSL, is also a doubtful starter.

Zimbabwe have included uncapped Wesley Madhevere in their test squad. The young 15-member squad also sees 23-year-old Richard Ngarava, and Blessing Muzarabani and Brandon Mavuta, both 24 

Tarisai Musakanda and Ryan Burl, who last played a test in 2017, have been recalled. Sean Williams will lead the team which includes Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva and Donald Tiripano, while Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine are not available.


Let's have a look at the squads:


Afghanistan Test squad: Asghar Afghan (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Nasir Jamal, Abdul Malik, Munir Ahmad Kakar, Shahidullah Kamal, Bahir Shah Mohboob, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Saleem Safi, Wafadar Momand, Zia Ur Rahman Akbar, Yamin Ahmadzai

 Zimbabwe Test squad: Sean Williams (c), Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Kevin Kasuza, Wessely Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Prince Masvaure, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Donald Tiripano


T20I squads: Yet to be announced


Here's the full schedule:  

2nd - 6th March: First Test – Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium (Abu Dhabi) 

10th-14th March: Second Test – Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium (Abu Dhabi)

17th March: First T20I – Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium (Abu Dhabi)

19th March: Second T20I – Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium (Abu Dhabi)

20th March: Third T20I – Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium (Abu Dhabi)

© Cricket World 2021