Afridi, Ajmal, Tamim Confirmed For Lord's Bicentenary Match

Shahid Afridi celebrates
Afridi, Ajmal, Tamim Confirmed For Lord's Bicentenary Match
©REUTERS / Action Image

Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal and Tamim Iqbal are the latest stars to confirm their places in the MCC v Rest of the World match which is part of Lord's bicentenary celebrations later this year.

The 50-over game on 5th July will see the trio involved in the match, in which the MCC side will be captained by Sachin Tendulkar against Shane Warne's Rest of the World side.

Lord's holds happy memories for Afridi, who scored 54 not out to guide Pakistan to glory in the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 final, also playing his final Test at the ground, against Australia in 2010.

Who's playing on 5th July?

MCC: Sachin Tendulkar (captain), Paul Collingwood, Rahul Dravid

Rest of the World: Shane Warne (captain), Adam Gilchrist

Unassigned: Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Saeed Ajmal, Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi, Shaun Tait, Daniel Vettori, Yuvraj Singh, Tamim Iqbal

Ajmal was also part of the Pakistan team that won the ICC WT20 in 2009 and this will be his seventh appearance at the home of cricket.

Bangladesh opening batsman Tamim made 103 in the first Test against England at Lord's in 2010, also scoring 55 in the game.

"Lord’s is always a wonderful place to play cricket and I’m really looking forward to going back there," Afridi said.

"It’s going to be great to be involved in the Lord’s Bicentenary celebrations and I’d like to thank MCC for inviting me to take part in the game.

"There are plenty of great players on the team sheet for this match and I can’t wait to share a pitch with them again – especially in such an amazing setting."

MCC President Gatting said: "The latest names to be confirmed for this match make it even more of an exciting prospect.

"MCC has asked the best players in world cricket to come and celebrate the Lord’s Bicentenary by playing in this match and I’m delighted that three more have accepted.

"It shows the standing of the Club and this marvellous ground that players of the quality of Shahid, Saeed and Tamim want to come and be part of these celebrations."

© Cricket World 2014