Afridi Dropped, Younus Recalled For India Series

Afridi Dropped, Younus Recalled For India Series
Afridi Dropped, Younus Recalled For India Series
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan have dropped one former captain in Shahid Afridi and recalled another in Younus Khan for their three-match One-Day International series in India.

The tour, which begins with two Twenty20 Internationals in Bangalore and Ahmedabad, will end a five-year hiatus in bilateral series between the two rivals following the 2008 terrorist attacks in Mumbai, although the two sides met in the 2011 World Cup semi-final in Mohali as well as the recent ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka.

Mohammad Hafeez will captain the Twenty20 International squad, in which Afridi does feature, while Misbah-ul-Haq takes charge of the ODI side.

Abdul Razzaq has been left out of both squads and Kamran Akmal is selected as the wicket-keeper for both formats of the game. The vastly experienced Younus, a veteran of 245 ODIs, last played an ODI in June.

Asad Shafiq, Aizaz Cheema, Sohail Tanvir and Abdur Rehman have also lost their places from the squad that played against Australia in September although Tanvir is in the T20 squad.

Quick bowler Anwar Ali is included in the ODI squad having last played for Pakistan in a solitary T20 match back in 2008 while batsman Haris Sohail and left-arm spinner Zulfiqar Babar are the other uncapped players in the ODI squad.

Babar, who is also included in the Twenty20 squad, took all 10 wickets in an innings in a first-class match in December 2009 and has taken 56 wickets in 37 one-day games.

Quick bowler Asad Ali is the other uncapped member of the Twenty20 squad which also includes Umar Amin, who last played for Pakistan back in 2010 during the tour of England.

Pakistan ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Anwar Ali Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Imran Farhat, Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Younus Khan, Zulfiqar Babar

Pakistan T20I squad: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Ali, Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Umar Gul, Zulfiqar Babar

Tour Schedule

25 Dec 2012 1st Twenty20 India v Pakistan M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore IT20
27 Dec 2012 2nd Twenty20 India v Pakistan Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad IT20
30 Dec 2012 1st ODI India v Pakistan MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai ODI
03 Jan 2013 2nd ODI India v Pakistan Eden Gardens, Kolkata ODI
06 Jan 2013 3rd ODI India v Pakistan Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi ODI

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


4th #WIvInd Test review from Trinidad

An Evening With Aggers & Tuffers - a teaser