< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Agar, McGrath crowned South Australia's best


Wes Agar and Tahlia McGrath have been recognised as the most outstanding cricketers for the West End Redbacks and Statewide Super SA Scorpions in the 2019-20 season.

Agar, 23, has claimed his maiden Neil Dansie Medal in his first year back with South Australia, and McGrath has won the newly-named Andrea McCauley Medal for the second consecutive year.

Agar’s rise has been nothing short of meteoric across all three formats, after the right-arm pace bowler also claimed the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year Award in February.

With 33 Marsh Sheffield Shield wickets which saw him equal-second leading wicket-taker of the competition in his debut season, Agar has now become a crucial cog in the Redbacks attack as batsmen struggled with his height and extra pace this summer.

Agar also impressed in the One-Day Cup, when he claimed 11 wickets from five matches, including a maiden five-wicket haul against Queensland in SA’s thrilling three-wicket win.

Agar polled strongly in the voting with 101 points, 13 ahead of Callum Ferguson (88), and Tom Cooper (75), accumulated across SA’s two domestic competitions.

Agar also scooped the Barry Jarman Award for the most improved male player, and the Lord Hampden Trophy for the most votes during the Sheffield Shield season.

McGrath took her second top honour in a season where she captained a young Scorpions outfit on three occasions, after making her leadership debut in the first Women’s National Cricket League match of the year.

Her genuine all-round ability led to a team-high 13 wickets and best figures of 4/40, and 261 runs in the top-order with a high score of 93, from seven games.

The 24-year-old joins SA legends Karen Rolton and Lauren Ebsary, and former England wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor, as the players who have gone back-to-back.

McGrath (105) outpolled Australian bowler Megan Schutt (96) and Bridget Patterson (83) to take the medal.

McGrath also earned the WNCL Most Improved award, cementing her status as a respected leader and integral player in the South Australian system.

For the third year running, New Zealand power hitter Sophie Devine was crowned the Adelaide Strikers’ Most Valuable Player for an astonishing rebel WBBL|05 campaign, which saw her smash the most runs with 769 at an average of 76.90, including nine half-centuries.

Devine made headlines around the world when she pummelled five consecutives sixes in the last over to finish 85 not against the Melbourne Stars, in a 17-run victory at Karen Rolton Oval.

The 30-year-old also finished in the top five wicket-takers of the competition, with 19 wickets and best figures of 3/13, truly cementing her as not just the Strikers’, but one of the League’s most valuable.

In the men’s side, reliable batsman Jon Wells held off Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan to claim his first BBL MVP award for an ultra-consistent season featuring a club record 478 runs from the middle-order.

The dashing right-hand batsman finished unbeaten at the crease seven times and was dismissed for less than 20 runs on just three occasions through 15 innings in a mark of his incredible consistency, notching four half-centuries and three Player of the Match awards along the way.

Wells was also deservedly named in the BBL Team of the Tournament, finishing the season with a League-high average of 68.28 when the next highest was Melbourne Stars allrounder Marcus Stoinis at 54.23.

Redbacks veteran Callum Ferguson was unanimously voted the men’s One-Day domestic MVP for his 403 runs which featured consecutive centuries in the final two games of the tournament, and seamer Nick Winter claimed the Barry 'Nugget' Rees Award recognising passion, humility, honesty, integrity, teamwork and respect for the game of cricket.

Other award winners (click here for the full list):

State Indigenous Female Player of the Year - Febi Mansell
Best performed player in the Indigenous National Championships.

State Indigenous Male Player of the Year - Ayden McGregor-Baptista
Best performed player in the Indigenous National Championships.

U18 Women’s Player of the Carnival (Shelley Nitschke Trophy) - Lucy Bowering
Bowering was named as the best player as voted by the coaches at the U18 National Championships in Canberra.

U17 Male AE Smith Trophy batting award - Isaac Higgins - 425 runs
Higgins was the leading runscorer of the U17 National Championships in Queensland with 425 runs and a high score of 110 not out.

U17 Male AE Smith Trophy bowling award - Sebastian Young - 12 wickets
Young took the most wickets for South Australia in the U17 National Championships in Queensland with 12, and best figures of 5/50.

U19 Men’s Major General Symes Trophy batting award - Thomas Kelly - 356 runs
Kelly was in the top five runscorers of the U19 National Championships in Perth, with 356 at an average of 71.20, including three fifties and one century.

U19 Men’s Major General Symes Trophy bowling award - William Bowering - 18 wickets
Bowering was the leading wicket-taker of the U19 National Championships in Perth with 18, at the lowest average of 12.83.

Peter Wang Award - Isaac Higgins
The Peter Wang Award recognises a youth squad cricketer who displays excellent cricket ability, high work ethic, admirable team loyalty, distinguished character and respect for the spirit of the game.

Official Cricket Australia Website