< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ajinkya Rahane to lead India against Zimbabwe

Ajinkya Rahane to lead India against Zimbabwe
Ajinkya Rahane will be leading India for the first time when they tour Zimbabwe in July.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the squad for India’s upcoming tour to Zimbabwe, which kicks off on 10th July in Harare.

The selectors have decided to rest MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma after a hectic season, which ended with the recent One-Day International series against Bangladesh.

Ajinkya Rahane, will be leading the side which also features Harbhajan Singh, who will be making his comeback to the 50-over format, after a gap of more than four years.

Receiving their first call-up to the national squad are Manish Pandey and Sandeep Sharma, whereas Kedar Jadhav gets his second chance, after featuring in the ODI against Sri Lanka in 2014.

While Murali Vijay returns to the top of the order, Robin Uthappa is rewarded for his consistent showing in the domestic circuit, where he scored 1158 runs in 14 first-class games.

Rahane, Ambati Rayudu and Manoj Tiwary will strengthen the middle order, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the pace attack consisting of Mohit Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni and Sandeep. 

India’s trio of assistant coaches, Bharat Arun, Sanjay Bangar and R Sridhar, will form the support staff without the team director Ravi Shastri, who is slated to miss the tour due to professional commitments.

India are scheduled to play three ODIs and two Twenty20 International games in the short tour, which had doubts cast over it earlier due to BCCI’s differences with the tournament broadcaster, Ten Sports. 

India squad for the Zimbabwe tour:

Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Murali Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Harbhajan Singh, Axar Patel, Karn Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma 

© Cricket World 2015