< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Akmal, Malik In Pakistan WT20 Squad

Umar Gul, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal
L-R: Umar Gul, Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal are all included in the 30-man provisional squad. All three helped Pakistan win the tournament in 2009
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan have included wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal and former captain Shoaib Malik in their provisional 30-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

There is, however, no place for hard-hitting all-rounder Abdul Razzaq, who helped Pakistan win the ICC World Twenty20 in England in 2009.

Kamran has been out of favour for some time, last playing an international match in June 2013 but is one of three wicket-keepers in the squad alongside his brother Umar Akmal and Sarfraz Ahmed.

Malik played in the Twenty20 series against South Africa in November but did not feature when Pakistan played two Twenty20s in South Africa and was left out of the series with Sri Lanka, but is now back in contention.

Like Kamran and Razzaq, he was involved when Pakistan beat Sri Lanka at Lord's to win the 2009 tournament.

Umar Gul, who spent most of the end of 2013 on the sidelines before an abortive return in the One-Day Internationals against Sri Lanka, is also included in the squad, which is expected to be led by batsman Mohammad Hafeez.

There is no place in the squad for either Umar Amin or Usman Shinwari, who both played in Pakistan's last T20 International, against Sri Lanka in December.

Zohaib Ahmed is the only uncapped member of the squad and there is a recall for all-rounder Yasir Arafat, who has not played Twenty20 International cricket since the last ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in 2012.

Pakistan, who were also runners-up in 2007 and semi-finalists in both 2010 and 2012, begin this year's competition playing against India on 21st March.

They then take on Australia two days later, a qualifier on 30th March and conclude their group games with a match against reigning champions the West Indies on 1st April.

Pakistan provisional ICC World Twenty20 squad: Mohammad Hafeez, Abdur Rehman, Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Asad Ali, Bilawal Bhatti, Ehsan Adil, Hammad Azam, Haris Sohail, Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal, Khurram Manzoor, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Talha, Nasir Jamshed, Raza Hasan, Saeed Ajmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Shahzaib Hasan, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat, Yasir Shah, Zohaib Ahmed, Zulfiqar Babar

© Cricket World 2014