Alan Isaac Takes Over As ICC President

Alan Isaac Takes Over As ICC President
Alan Isaac Takes Over As ICC President
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand's Alan Isaac has taken over from India's Sharad Pawar as President of the International Cricket Council (ICC) following its annual conference in Kuala Lumpur.

Isaac becomes the eighth president of cricket's governing body and will serve a two-year term while former South African international David Richardson replaces Haroon Lorgat as ICC Chief Executive.

"When I look at the list of previous Presidents, I am reminded of the importance of this office," Isaac said.

"In the midst of my pride at being chosen as President, I recognise that there is, of course, much hard work and much progress needed if we are to maintain the game’s current healthy state. I believe that the challenges ahead are no less daunting than those we have faced in the last two years if we are to maintain the vibrancy and viability of the three formats of the sport.

"We are fortunate as a sport - indeed unique - to have three different formats at international level.  We will all strive not only to preserve those formats but to build on their foundations. In that way the ICC will continue to oversee a great sport and we will all work to make it even greater.

"I look forward to serving the game with honesty and integrity and to the best of my ability. I look forward to handing on the guardianship of the sport with the game enjoying even greater health."

Richardson played 42 Tests for South Africa before working as ICC General Manager - Cricket for 10 years.

"It is a real honour to be confirmed as the ICC Chief Executive and I want to pay tribute to Haroon Lorgat. I have learnt much in the last four years and I inherit a game in great health with much to be optimistic about. I look forward to building on that and tackling the challenges ahead," he said.

At the conference, the necessary changes were made to create the post of ICC Chairman, remove the role of ICC Vice-President and vary the role and powers of the President ready for changes post-2014, where the President will take on a ceremonial role with one-year tenures and Chairmen will stand for two years.

Russia and Hungary were confirmed as new Affiliate members of the ICC but Switzerland have been removed as an Affiliate member after they were suspended in 2011 for not complying with ICC's membership criteria. They continue to remain unable to meet these criteria.

As a result, the ICC now boasts 106 members.

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.