Aley, Vakarewa called-up for Australia's Women World Cup title defence

Australia will look to win their seventh title
Australia will look to win their seventh title

Australia Women have called up uncapped duo Sarah Aley and Belinda Vakarewa for the ICC Women's World Cup campaign to be played in England in June and July.

The 32-year-old Aley, a right arm medium bowler was the player of the match in the final of the Women's Big Bash League tournament where she picked a four-wicket haul to help her team Sydney Sixers defend 125. Vakarewa, 19, featured for Sydney Thunder during the Women's Big Bash League tournament.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Rachael Haynes has been recalled into the squad after her successful recovery from an ankle injury. Haynes has played 32 ODIs for Australia in which she scored 832 runs and also snared five wickets.

"This is going to be one of the most tightly contested World Cups in recent times and we have chosen 15 players that we believe are capable of leading Australia to victory," Shawn Flegler, the national selector, said.

"Belinda Vakarewa is an exciting young talent who has made the most of her opportunities that have come her way with the Shooting Stars and more recently during the three-week camp held in Brisbane. She adds some extra firepower with her pace and we're excited to see what she can do.

"Sarah Aley will also add some extra depth to our bowling attack and brings an incredible amount of experience to the group which is invaluable in a tournament like this.

"Ashleigh Gardner is another young player that has really impressed and alongside Kristen Beams, Jess Jonassen and Amanda-Jade Wellington, will form a strong spin attack that provides a range of options with the ball.

"We're pleased to have Rachael Haynes back in the squad after suffering an ankle injury earlier in the year and she too brings a wealth of experience having played in World Cups and in English conditions."

Australia are the most successful team in the history of the tournament, having won the title six times previously.

Australia Women squad:

Meg Lanning (captain), Sarah Aley, Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Nicole Bolton, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

© Cricket World 2017