< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

All of the 7 World Cup Titles won by the Australian Women’s Cricket Team

Australia Women also won Gold at the 2022 Commonwealth Games
Australia Women also won Gold at the 2022 Commonwealth Games

Formerly known as the Southern Stars, the Australian women's cricket team represents Australia in international women's cricket. Women in Australia have played the sport since 1855 when the first recorded match occurred in Bendigo. The Australian Women's Cricket Council (AWCC) was formed in March 1931, with states such as Victoria, Queensland, and New South Wales being original members.


The team's latest win saw them beat England in the Women's Cricket World Cup, with Alyssa Healy soaring to the highest score ever, beating England by 71 runs. Here are some of the other titles won by the team over the years.


2022 - New Zealand


In March 2022, Australia beat New Zealand by 141 runs in the Women’s Cricket World Cup. Ashleigh Gardner won Player of the Match with her exceptional batting skills allowing the team to win their third match in a row. The final score came in at 145/5, whilst New Zealand saw a final score of 144/7.


While the game was exciting for many of us watching at home, we can only imagine how exciting it was for the players on the pitch. The thrill of this match reminded us just how exciting playing a thrilling game can be, especially at an online live casino where there’s more than just one game to try your hand! From top live casino games such as Live Blackjack, Live Roulette, Live Poker, and more, these games will enable you to feel the thrill over and over again!


2013 - India


Australian Women were crowned world champions for the sixth time in February 2013. They defeated West Indies by an impressive 114 runs in the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup Final, which was held in Mumbai. Interestingly, the team also won the largest margin of victory regarding the number of runs. Jess Cameron was later declared Player of the Match for her excellent batting performance.


2005 - South Africa


In 2005, South Africa hosted the Women's Cricket World Cup from 22nd March to 10th April. It was the tournament's first edition to be held in South Africa, with Australia ultimately winning and earning their fifth title. The team's top scorer was Karen Rolton, an Australian who was vice-captain at the time. She scored a total of 107 runs batting at number three.


1997 - India


The Women's World Cup returned to India in 1997; similar to 1978, the Australia team also won. The tournament featured countries such as Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka for the first time. This match saw Australia beat Pakistan for 27 in 13.4 overs before further records were met when they beat Denmark.


1988 - Australia


The Women's Cricket World Cup Final took place in 1988. It consisted of a one-day cricket match between England and none other than Australia. Australia won the match by eight wickets with more than 15 overs remaining. Player of the match, Lindsay Reeler, finished the tournament with 448 runs making her the leading run-scorer.


1982 - New Zealand

In 1982, the Women's Cricket World Cup, formerly known as the 1982 Hansells VitaFresh World Cup, was hosted by New Zealand for the first time. It was the third edition of the Women's Cricket World Cup and occurred when women's cricket was starting to pick up. Captain, Sharon Tredrea, led the team to its second ODI World Cup title thanks to the victory over England!



1978 - India

The Women's World Cup was also played in India in 1978 from 1st - 13th January 1978. The event was hosted by India for the first time and saw Australia go undefeated as they claimed their first title in a round-robin tournament of three matches. Australia's captain, Margaret Jennings, led the tournament in runs, while her teammate, Sharyn Hill, led for wickets.



As you can see, not only do Australian women compete in cricket domestically, but internationally too! Australia is the No. 1 ranked international team in the world in both one-day and Test Cricket, and it's not difficult to see why! The team has won many matches over the years, with more certainly to come.