< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

All WBBL Clubs to Play Home Games for First Time in Three Years

All WBBL Clubs to Play Home Games for First Time in Three Years
All WBBL Clubs to Play Home Games for First Time in Three Years

The Weber WBBL is returning to fans around the country, with all Clubs to play home matches during the season for the first time in three years.

Not since the WBBL|05 season have all clubs hosted matches in their own markets – but in Weber WBBL|08, 14 metro and regional venues will play host to the world’s best cricket league for women, which begins on Thursday, October 13.

Host broadcaster Seven will show 24 matches live this season, with all 59 matches on Foxtel and Kayo. This includes a new Thursday night slot, with a total of 17 matches in prime time, the most in the competition’s history.

Today's announcement comes as welcome news to Melbourne Renegades and Melbourne Stars fans, whose teams have made the Finals once in each of the past two years, but both without the support of a home crowd. The CitiPower Centre in St Kilda, Ballarat’s Eastern Oval and Ted Summerton Reserve in Moe will host a total of 12 matches this season.

Similarly, the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder will play in front of their fans for the first time since WBBL|06, when the entire season was staged in Sydney under bio-secure conditions. In all, 12 matches will be played across North Sydney Oval, Manuka Oval and Blacktown International Sports Park.

Brisbane Heat will play their first matches at Allan Border Field since winning the WBBL|05 Final, with the newly redeveloped venue to host three of its four matches under lights. The Heat will also open the season in their second home at Mackay, with six matches in total at Great Barrier Reef Arena.

The Perth Scorchers will once again host matches at both the WACA Ground and their popular Lilac Hill festival venue, while Adelaide Strikers fans will see their team in action at Karen Rolton Oval and Centennial Park, Nuriootpa. And after 24 matches were held in Tasmania to kick off Weber WBBL|07, the Hobart Hurricanes return to a more regular home town footprint with matches at Blundstone Arena and Latrobe Recreation Ground.

In addition to the 17 prime time matches, a further 15 matches will be played in twilight time slots. Importantly, no Weber WBBL match will clash with any of Australia’s games in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, ensuring fans can enjoy the best of both competitions either at the venue or on TV.

The Weber WBBL|08 Finals series will take place following the conclusion of the regular season on November 20, with dates and details of each match to be confirmed..

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said:

“Today we have unveiled a Weber WBBL|08 schedule that rewards our fans for three years of loyalty and passion.

“There is so much to be celebrated about the WBBL, which is the world’s best cricket competition for women. That celebration will once again be truly national, as we visit 14 venues across the country.

“We thank our fans for their commitment to the WBBL, which has enjoyed record TV viewership at a time when attending in person has been challenging, and look forward to seeing our venues full of kids, families and colour again this summer.

“We are also grateful for the support of our broadcast partners Seven and Foxtel to ensure the continuation of a full 59-game TV footprint. That, plus further broadcast support from Kayo, ABC Radio and cricket.com.au, will make Weber WBBL|08 the most accessible season ever for fans around the country. This includes fans both at home and at the game, which has been made possible thanks to the support of state and territory governments”.

Tickets to all Weber WBBL|08 matches will be available via pre sale on August 16 and available to the public from August 18.

The KFC BBL|12 schedule will be announced soon.

Official Cricket Australia Website