Alyssa Healy audio

Alyssa Healy batting
Alyssa Healy batting

Australia has claimed a three nil series whitewash against India after defeating the hosts by 97-runs in the final One Day International in Baroda today, with Alyssa Healy (133) scoring a maiden ODI century.

Chasing Australia’s 7-332, India made a fast start reaching 0-101 before two wickets in as many balls to Ashleigh Gardner (3-40) halted the home side’s momentum.

Australia continued to tighten the screws and were rewarded with Jess Jonassen (1-40) and Nicola Carey (1-34) claiming the key wickets of Mithali Raj (21) and Harmanpreet Kaur (25).

Depti Sharma (37) and Sushma Verma (29) fought hard but it wasn’t enough, Megan Schutt (2-54) and
Ellyse Perry (2-40) finishing off the tail and restrict India to 235.

After winning the toss earlier in the day, captain Meg Lanning elected to bat but Australia stumbled early losing Nicole Bolton (11) then Lanning (18).

Opener Healy carried on unfazed, scoring at better than a run-a-ball to reach her first ODI century and the first by an Australian wicket-keeper.

Vice-captain Rachael Haynes added 43 to the tally, while a quick-fire 35 from Gardner and 34 off just 19 balls from Beth Mooney helped push Australia’s total past the 300-mark.

The win also means Australia reclaims the number one ICC ranking which takes into account matches played across all three formats. 

Australia will return to Mumbai tomorrow where the two teams will be joined by England for a Twenty20 tri-series starting on 22 March.

Alyssa Healy audi

Commonwealth Bank Tour of India schedule

12 March: First ODI, Vadodara International Cricket Stadium* - Australia won by eight wickets

15 March: Second ODI, Vadodara International Cricket Stadium* - Australia won by 60 runs
18 March: Third ODI, Vadodara International Cricket Stadium* - Australia won by 97 runs

T20I Tri-Series (Australian fixtures only)
22 March: Australia v India, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
23 March: Australia v England, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
26 March: Australia v India, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
28 March: Australia v England, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
31 March: Final, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, Mumbai
*ICC Women’s Championship matches