< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Anderson's seven-wicket haul sets up series win for England

England's Joe Root and team mates celebrate with the trophy after winning the Investec Test Series
England's Joe Root and team mates celebrate with the trophy after winning the Investec Test Series

England 194 & 107-1 (Westley 44no) beat
West Indies 123 & 177 (Shai 62) by nine wickets
Third Test, Lord's, day three

James Anderson claimed a seven wicket haul as England bowled out West Indies for 177 runs in their second innings and chased down 107 with nine wickets in hand to win the third Test at Lord's, thereby claiming the series 2-1.

This was also Anderson's career best figures as he joins Graham Gooch & Andrew Strauss in the most man of the series awards for England.

Earlier, West Indies resumed the day at 93 for three, having a slender lead of 22 runs. In the first over of the day, Anderson (7-42) had Roston Chase (3) caught behind and few overs later, Jermaine Blackwood (5) was dropped by Stuart Broad (2-35).

Blackwood also successfully used a review to overturn an LBW decision against him but soon fell to Anderson. Broad continued to remain sloppy on the field as Shane Dowrich (14) had a reprieve but his 33-ball vigil ended when Toby Roland-Jones (1-31) had him caught at silly mid-on.

Shai Hope (62), who waged a lone fight completed a well compiled fifty and had brief support from Jason Holder (23) but Anderson was all over the West Indies batsmen as he completed seven wicket haul to wrap them up for 177.

Chasing a target of 107 in the final innings, Mark Stoneman (40 not out) and Alastair Cook (17) added 35 runs for the opening wicket before the latter was trapped LBW by Devendra Bishoo (1-35).

However, that was the last success, West Indies had in the game as Mark Stoneman (40 not out) and Tom Westley (44 not out) added unbeaten 72 run stand to steer England home and complete a 2-1 series victory.

Shai and Anderson were named the men of the series while Ben Stokes bagged the man of the match award for his all-round performance.

© Cricket World 2017