< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Andrew Tye speaks on Perth Scorchers current form

The Perth Scorchers have made one change to their 16-player squad for their KFC Big Bash League ‘Disco Inferno’ match against the Sydney Thunder tomorrow, Saturday 9 January at Optus Stadium.

Sam Whiteman’s omission is the sole change to a Scorchers squad riding a wave of home-town momentum.

The Scorchers are coming off three crushing wins and can make it four in a row with victory over the Thunder.

Perth will be hoping their home form over the Thunder can continue, they’ve won four of their six matches at home against the Sydney club, including an eight-wicket win at Optus Stadium last season.

The match against the Thunder will be played under strict quarantine conditions.

Players and staff from each team will follow strict biosecurity protocols – identical to those put in place for the Scorchers previous matches against the Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Sixers.

The Disco Inferno game returns for a second season, after proving to be an absolute fan-favourite last summer. Scorchers fans are encouraged to dress-up, and vote for their favourite disco songs to be played at the match via the club’s social media channels.

The match will also feature an epic disco tune mashup set to shake Optus Stadium during the innings break.

Whiteman, Cameron Gannon and replacement player Liam Guthrie have been granted a release from the hub protocols and will play in the Alcohol.Think Again Premier Cricket competition until further notice.



Perth Scorchers v Sydney Thunder
Saturday 9 January, 4:15pm WST
Optus Stadium, Perth
LIVE: Seven, Foxtel, Kayosports, SEN Radio, cricket.com.au


OUT: Sam Whiteman


Fawad Ahmed

Cameron Bancroft

Jason Behrendorff

Aaron Hardie

Josh Inglis

Matt Kelly

Liam Livingstone

Mitch Marsh

Colin Munro

Joel Paris

Kurtis Patterson

Jhye Richardson

Corey Rocchiccioli

Jason Roy

Ashton Turner

Andrew Tye