< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Annabel Sutherland ruled out of upcoming tour of New Zealand

Annabel Sutherland ruled out of upcoming tour of New Zealand
Annabel Sutherland ruled out of upcoming tour of New Zealand

All-rounder Annabel Sutherland has been ruled of the upcoming Commonwealth Bank Tour of New Zealand and remainder of the Women’s National Cricket League season after suffering a stress reaction in her femur.

Off-spinner Molly Strano has been named as her replacement in the Australian side.

Australian Team Doctor, Philippa Inge said:

“Annabel presented with some vague posterior thigh pain following the last round of WNCL matches, with further imaging confirming a stress reaction in her femur.”

Shawn Flegler, Cricket Australia’s Female High Performance Manager and National Selector said:

“It’s unfortunate that Annabel has been ruled out of the series, but our medical team were able to identify the issue early which allows her to go away and get herself right with a busy period coming up.

“Molly comes into the squad off the back of strong performances for Victoria in the WNCL, where she’s the current leading wicket-taker.

"We’ve got plenty of pace-bowling options in the squad, so Molly gives us another spin option should we need it.”

Australia will take on New Zealand in three Twenty20 Internationals from March 28, before the coveted Rose Bowl Trophy goes on the line in three One-Day Internationals from April 4.

Australia departs on 13 March where players and staff will complete two weeks managed isolation ahead of the first T20I.

Australia squad

Meg Lanning (Victoria, captain)
Rachael Haynes (New South Wales, vice-captain)
Darcie Brown (South Australia)
Nicola Carey (Tasmania)
Hannah Darlington (New South Wales)
Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)
Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)
Jess Jonassen (Queensland)
Tahlia McGrath (South Australia)
Sophie Molineux (Victoria)
Beth Mooney (Queensland)
Ellyse Perry (Victoria)
Megan Schutt (South Australia)
Molly Strano (Victoria)
Belinda Vakarewa (Tasmania)
Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)
Georgia Wareham (Victoria)

© Cricket World 2021

Official Cricket Australia Website