< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

APC: Nangarhar advance to final on superior run-rate

Nangarhar enter final
Nangarhar enter final
©Cricket World

Nangarhar Province advanced to the final of the Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020 owing to a superior run-rate.

In the semi-final against Kabul, bad light and rain ruined the contest. In the end only 22 overs a side contest was possible, but only one innings was fully completed. Nangarhar and Kabul were tied on points in the league stage. But it was Nangarhar who had a better run-rate of 0.873 as compared to Kabul's 0.207.

The final between Khost and Nangarhar will now be played on Friday.

In the match proper at Mis Ainak Cricket Ground in Khost, Nangarhar elected to field. For Kabul the star with the bat was Darwish Rasooli's 32-ball 63 with two boundaries and seven huge sixes.
Towards the end of the inings Asif Musazai (37 n.o.: 25b, 1x4, 2x6) and Shafiqullah Ghafari (22) played crucial knocks. Kabul finished at 186 for nine from their allotted 22 overs.

The chase for Nangarhar was progressing well as they reached 77 for two in their nine overs. Bahar Shinwari (38) and Tamim Surkhorodi (19) shared 58 runs for the opening wicket. But then heavy rains put paid to any chances for a result in the contest.

Match Summary-Kabul Province v Nangarhar Province, 2nd Semi-Final, Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020

Kabul Province 186-9 (22)
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Imran Janat-1.4 ov), 2-40 (Ishaq Zazai-6.1 ov), 3-43 (Amanullah Rafiqi-6.5 ov), 4-63 (Nisar Wahdat-9.5 ov), 5-112 (Younas Ahmadzai-14.3 ov), 6-125 (Darwish Rasooli-15.4 ov), 7-169 (Shafiqullah Ghafari-19.5 ov), 8-175 (Abdul Rahman-20.5 ov), 9-186 (Parvez Amin-21.6 ov)

Nangarhar Province 70-2 (9)
Fall of wickets: 1-58 (Bahar Shinwari-5.4 ov), 2-61 (Tamim Surkhorodi-7.3 ov)

Result-Match ended in no result, Nangarhar Province advanced on superior run-rate

Match Scorecard & Stats + Analysis

Playing XI

Kabul Province: Imran Janat, Ishaq Zazai, Amanullah Rafiqi, Nisar Wahdat (captain), Younas Ahmadzai, Darwish Rasooli, Shafiqullah Ghafari, Abdul Rahman, Parvez Amin, Asif Musazai, Mohammad Inamullah

Nangarhar Province: Bahar Shinwari, Tamim Surkhorodi, Abid Mohammadi, Nasir Khan, Shawkat Zaman (captain), Tariq Stanikzai, Bahir Shah, Tahir Khan, Batin Shah, Abdullah Adil, Wali Agha