< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

APC: Shahidullah leads Khost to title

Khost captain Shahidullah celebrates his hundred
Khost captain Shahidullah celebrates his hundred
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Khost Province won the Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020 beating Nangarhar Province in the final by five wickets.

At the Khost Cricket Stadium, Khost Province elected to field.

Nangarhar innings was held together by opener Bahar Shinwari (62: 56b, 6x4, 4x6). He got good support from captain Shawkat Zaman's 39-ball 33. Handy cameos from Mohammad Ishaq (23), Abdullah Adil (24) and an unbeaten 25 by Mohammad Ibrahim helped Nangarhar post 233 in 47.5 overs.

The key wicket-takers for Khost were Haseebullah (3-63) and Asghar Atal (3-25).

The chase for Khost was fashioned by captain Shahidullah's unbeaten 119 off 131 balls with 13 boundaries and four sixes. There were useful knocks by Rahim Mangal (39: 42b, 7x4) and Mohammadullah (39: 50b, 3x4, 1x6) too.

Rahim Mangal added 91 runs for Shahidullah for the second wicket and thereafter Mohammadullah put on 93 for the fourth wicket with the Khost captain.

The only bowler to create any impact for Nangarhar was Tariq Stanikzai (2-18).

For his unbeaten hundred, Shahidullah was named player of the final.

Match Summary-Nangarhar Province v Khost Province, Final, Afghanistan Provincial Cup 2020

Nangarhar Province 233 (47.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-64 (Abid Mohammadi-9.3 ov), 2-64 (Bahir Shah-9.4 ov), 3-120 (Bahar Shinwari-19.4 ov), 4-133 (Shawkat Zaman-21.3 ov), 5-134 (Tahir Khan-23.2 ov), 6-170 (Mohammad Ishaq-33.3 ov), 7-172 (Tariq Stanikzai-38.2 ov), 8-180 (Fitratullah Khawari-39.5 ov), 9-180 (Batin Shah-40.3 ov), 10-233 (Abdullah Adil-47.5 ov)

Khost Province 235-5 (40)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Asghar Atal-0.2 ov), 2-91 (Rahim Mangal-16.2 ov), 3-95 (Rahmanullah-16.4 ov), 4-188 (Mohammadullah-34.1 ov), 5-208 (Shaheen-37.4 ov)

Result-Khost Province won by five wickets

Playing XI
Nangarhar Province: Abid Mohammadi, Bahir Shah, Bahar Shinwari, Shawkat Zaman (captain), Tahir Khan, Mohammad Ishaq, Tariq Stanikzai, Fitratullah Khawari, Batin Shah, Abdullah Adil, Mohammad Ibrahim

Khost Province: Asghar Atal, Rahim Mangal, Rahmanullah, Mohammadullah, Shahidullah (captain), Shaheen, Emal, Noor Ahmad, Nasim Mangal, Bakhtarullah Atal, Haseebullah