Ashes 2009: Harmison In As ECB Reveal Flintoff Fear

Ashes 2009: Harmison In As ECB Reveal Flintoff Fear
Ashes 2009: Harmison In As ECB Reveal Flintoff Fear
©Action Images / Andrew Couldridge

The England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have named a 14-man squad for the second Ashes Test, including pace bowler Steve Harmison after it was revealed that Andrew Flintoff is a slight injury doubt for the match against Australia which begins on Thursday (16th July) at Lord's.

Harmison is added to the 13-man squad named for the opening Test, which means that once again, Graham Onions and Monty Panesar would appear to be fighting for one spot, notwithstanding Flintoff's knee injury, which could see Ian Bell force his way back into the team.

“It required a tremendous effort to save the 1st npower Test match and no praise can be high enough for the fighting qualities shown by Paul Collingwood together with our lower order batsmen. Their application at the crease and determination to get the job done was first-rate.

“We are well aware, however, that we did not perform well in Cardiff over the five days and will need to improve in all areas of our game if we are to overcome what is a strong Australian side.

“We have added Stephen Harmison to our squad for the next Test match as Andrew Flintoff injured his right knee at Cardiff and will undergo a precautionary scan later today.

“Andrew is experiencing soreness and swelling in the knee which he twisted while in the field and he will be reassessed by the medical staff over the next forty eight hours leading up to the Test Match on Thursday.

“In the event of Andrew being unfit, we see Stephen as a like for like replacement in terms of the type of bowler he is and his ability to unsettle the opposition batsmen with pace and bounce..

“But we will need to consider all our options carefully when we come to determine the make-up of our bowling attack at Lord’s and the final decision will depend on our assessment of the pitch and the likely overhead conditions. “

England: Andrew Strauss (captain), James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Andrew Flintoff, Stephen Harmison, Graham Onions, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Matthew Prior, Graeme Swann

© Cricket World 2009