< >
Cricket Betting us

Asia Cup Final 2023: India crush Sri Lanka by 10 wickets

Asia Cup Final 2023: India crush Sri Lanka by 10 wickets
Asia Cup Final 2023: India crush Sri Lanka by 10 wickets

Pace bowler Mohammed Siraj returned figures of 6-21 to lead India's rout of Sri Lanka by 10 wickets as they clinched their eighth Asia Cup title on Sunday.

Top Tournament Stats - Asia Cup 2023

Top Batter - Runs Scored

Top Bowler - Wickets Taken

Points Table

Fixtures Schedule and Results

The final of the Asia Cup 2023 was all about the Indian side as it was a dominating effort from their end. The game took place at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, where Sri Lanka opted to bat first. It was a bizarre outing for them as India bundled them out for just 50 runs. The Rohit Sharma-led side chased the target by ten wickets inside seven overs to win the tournament.

Sri Lanka was off to the worst possible start as Jasprit Bumrah removed Kusal Perera in the very first over. However, after that, it was all about Mohammed Siraj as he wreaked havoc across the Sri Lankan batting lineup. The pacer made batters look clueless and picked six wickets in a flash. Kusal Mendis (17:34b, 3x4) tried to settle in but he was undone by his brilliance. No other Sri Lanka batter crossed the 15-run mark as Hardik Pandya too chipped in as he bagged three wickets. India bundled out the opposition for just 50 runs in 15.2 overs.

Captain Rohit Sharma didn’t come to open the innings he allowed Ishan Kishan to bat with Shubman Gill. The young duo was in a hurry to finish the game as they took the attack to the Sri Lanka bowlers. Ishan (22 not out:18b, 3x4)) and Shubman (27 not out: 19b, 6x4) took just 6.1 overs to finish the game. India won the game by the margin of ten wickets and lifted their eighth Asia Cup trophy.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka: 50 (15.2 ov)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Kusal Perera-0.3 ov), 2-8 (Pathum Nissanka-3.1 ov), 3-8 (Sadeera Samarawickrama-3.3 ov), 4-8 (Charith Asalanka-3.4 ov), 5-12 (Dhananjaya de Silva-3.6 ov), 6-12 (Dasun Shanaka-5.4 ov), 7-33 (Kusal Mendis-11.2 ov), 8-40 (Dunith Wellalage-12.3 ov), 9-50 (Pramod Madushan-15.1 ov), 10-50 (Matheesha Pathirana-15.2 ov)

India: 51-0 (6.1)

Fall of wickets: 


Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana

Match Details

Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Start time: 0930 hrs GMT
Match officials: Ahmed Shah Pakteen, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopala (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023