< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Aus v Ind 1st Test Day 1: Australia holds the eye with Kohli run-out

Virat Kohli was run-out at a crucial time
Virat Kohli was run-out at a crucial time

Virat KIohli's famed connection with Adelaide Oval almost proved right once again for him and India. But an unfortunate run-out left India and him stranded at the end of the first day's play in the first Test in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on Thursday.

India finished the day on 233 for six in 89 overs when stumps were drawn.

Kohli shared two crucial stands, first with Cheteshwar Pujara (43: 160b, 218m, 2x4) worth 68 runs for the third wicket. Then the Indian captain added a crucial 88 runs for the fourth wicket with Ajinkya Rahane (42: 92b, 130m, 3x4, 1x6). Just when it looked like the partnership was swinging the day India's way, Rahane made a wrong call to leave Kohli stranded. Nathan Lyon completed the formalities afrter Josh Hazlewood fielded well at mid-off. Kohli ended on 74 off 180 balls with eight boundaries.

Thereafter, Rahane fell soon after and Hanuma Vihari fell soon after. India slipped from 188 for three to 206 for six. Towards the end of the day's play Wriddhiman Saha (9 batting) and Ravichandran Ashwin (15 batting) added 27 runs to ward off any threat from the Aussie bowling.

For Australia the best bowlers were Mitchell Starc (2-49) and Lyoin (1-68).

Match Summary - Australia v India, 1st Test, Day 1, Adelaide Oval, Border-Gavaskar Trophy

India 233-6 (89)

Australia - still to bat


Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Prithvi Shaw-0.2 ov), 2-32 (Mayank Agarwal-18.1 ov), 3-100 (Cheteshwar Pujara-49.4 ov), 4-188 (Virat Kohli-76.6 ov), 5-196 (Ajinkya Rahane-80.4 ov), 6-206 (Hanuma Vihari-83.2 ov)

Playing XIs

Australia: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (captain & wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India: Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match Details


Start Time: 04:00

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rodney Tucker, Gerard Abood, David Boon

©Cricket World 2020