< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Aus v Ind 1st Test Day 2: India edge ahead on 15-wicket day

Tim Paine batted well for his side
Tim Paine batted well for his side
Prithvi Shaw bowled by Cummins for 4
Prithvi Shaw bowled by Cummins for 4

India edged ahead of Australia on the second day of the first Test in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at the Adelaide Oval on Friday.

On a day when 15 wickets fell during the day, India took a useful 53 run lead over the home team to take the honours. India when stumps were drawn for the day were at 9 for one with an overall lead of 62.

India earlier began the day at 233 for six, but were bowled out soon as they were bowled out for 244. The key wicket-takers for Australia were Mitchell Starc (4-53) and Pat Cummins (3-48).

In reply, Australia began slowly but lost wickets at regular intervals. The key contributors for Australia was Marnus Labuschange (47: 119b, 171m, 7x4) who was offered three lives by India. Later, captain Tim Paine (73 n.o.: 99b, 143m, 10x4) rallied the lower order gallantly. Paine also had a couple of lives coming his way. He helped his side reduce the deficit after being 111 for seven at one stage. For India the best bowlers were Ravichandran Ashwin (4-55), Umesh Yadav (3-40) and Jasprit Bumrah (2-52). Australia was bowled out for 191.

In their reply, India was at 9-1 with opener Prithvi Shaw falling cheaply once again.

Video - Ravi Ashwin speaks after 2nd Day of 1st Test vs Australia

Match Summary - Australia v India, 2nd Day, 1st Test, Adelaide Oval, Border-Gavaskar Trophy

India 1st Innings: 244 (93.1)
Fall of wickets: 7-233 (Ravichandran Ashwin-89.3 ov), 8-235 (Wriddhiman Saha-90.3 ov), 9-240 (Umesh Yadav-92.2 ov), 10-244 (Mohammed Shami-93.1 ov)

Australia 1st Innings: 191 (72.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Matthew Wade-14.1 ov), 2-29 (Joe Burns-16.6 ov), 3-45 (Steven Smith-26.6 ov), 4-65 (Travis Head-34.4 ov), 5-79 (Cameron Green-40.3 ov), 6-111 (Marnus Labuschagne-53.3 ov), 7-111 (Pat Cummins-53.6 ov), 8-139 (Mitchell Starc-60.1 ov), 9-167 (Nathan Lyon-66.5 ov), 10-191 (Josh Hazlewood-72.1 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 9-1 (6)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Prithvi Shaw-3.1 ov)


Playing XIs

Australia: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (captain & wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India: Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match Details


Start Time: 04:00

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rodney Tucker, Gerard Abood, David Boon

©Cricket World 2020