< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Aus v Ind 1st Test Day 3: Australia take 1-0 lead after dramatic Indian collapse

Joe Burns and Steve Smith celebrate Australia win
Joe Burns and Steve Smith celebrate Australia win
©Cricket World

Australia beat India by eight wickets to take a 1-0 lead in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday.

On a dramatic day when India was skittled out for a paltry 36 for nine, their lowest-ever Test innings total of 42 in 1974, in just 21.2 overs. Australia ran home easy winners as they chased down the target of 90 with absolute ease.

India began the day at nine for one, hoping to pile up the runs and pressure on Australia. But Australia's pace bowlers Pat Cummins (4-21) and Josh Hazlewood (5-8) wrecked the Indian batting line-up.

None of the Indian batsmen entered double figures as they caved in without a fight. Towards the end of the innings, fast bowler Mohammed Shami got hit on his bowling arm when he tried to duck away from a rising Cummins delivery. Shami could not take any further part in the contest, as the pain made it difficult for him to continue batting.

India ended at 36 for nine with an overall lead of 53, leaving Australia to chase down 90 to take a 1-0 lead.

Australia chased down the target with a lot of ease as their openers Matthew Wade (33) and Joe Burns (51 n.o.: 63b, 95m, 7x4, 1x6) added 70 for the opening wicket. Fittingly, Burns hit a six to win the Test and that too off yet another dropped catch.

Match Summary - Australia v India, 1st Test, Day 3, Adelaide Oval, Border-Gavaskar Trophy

India 1st Innings: 244 (93.1)

Australia 1st Innings: 191 (72.1)

India 2nd Innings: 36-9 (21.2)

Fall of wickets: 2-15 (Jasprit Bumrah-7.6 ov), 3-15 (Cheteshwar Pujara-11.2 ov), 4-15 (Mayank Agarwal-12.1 ov), 5-15 (Ajinkya Rahane-12.5 ov), 6-19 (Virat Kohli-13.4 ov), 7-26 (Wriddhiman Saha-18.4 ov), 8-26 (Ravichandran Ashwin-18.5 ov), 9-31 (Hanuma Vihari-20.1 ov), 9-36* (Mohammed Shami-retired hurt)

Australia 2nd Innings 93-2 (21)

Fall of wickets: 1-70 (Matthew Wade-17.2 ov), 2-82 (Marnus Labuschagne-19.5 ov)

Result - Australia won by eight wickets


Playing XIs

Australia: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (captain & wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India: Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match Details


Start Time: 04:00

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rodney Tucker, Gerard Abood, David Boon

©Cricket World 2020