< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Aus v Ind 2nd Test, Day 3: India take control, but Green and Cummins defy

Ravindra Jadeja struck crucial blows
Ravindra Jadeja struck crucial blows

Mohammed Siraj spoke to the media after the day 3 of the 2nd Border-Gavaskar Test against Australia

India struck crucial blows with the ball to leave host Australia gasping for breath on the third day of the second Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on Monday at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

India was bowled out for 326 to give them an overall lead of 131, in response Australia was struggling at 133 for six with an overall lead of two runs.

Australia struggled yet again as their top-order was dismissed quite cheaply. India struck regular blows despite losing premier fast bowler Umesh Yadav to a calf injury. The others stepped up nicely especially Ravindra Jadeja (2-25) who followed up his batting effort with some useful bowling. The others to take wickets were Jasprit Bumrah (1-34), Umesh Yadav (1-5), Mohammed Siraj (1-23) and Ravichandran Ashwin (1-46).

Australia were struggling at 99 for six when Cameron Green (17 n.o.) and Pat Cummins (15 n.o.) came together. The pair has thus far added 34 runs for the seventh wicket as Australia finished the day at 133 for six.

Earlier, India was bowled out for 326 after the overnight pair of Ajinkya Rahane (112: 223b, 12x4) and Jadeja (57: 159b, 3x4) added a further 17 runs to the overnight score. Rahane was run-out and thereafter the rest of the batting just collapsed quite cheaply. The best bowlers for Australia were Nathan Lyon (3-72), Mitchell Starc (3-78) and Pat Cummins (2-80).

Match Summary - Australia v India, 3rd Day, 2nd Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Australia 1st Innings: 195
India 1st Innings: 326

Australia 2nd Innings: 133-6 (66)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Joe Burns-3.1 ov), 2-42 (Marnus Labuschagne-17.5 ov), 3-71 (Steven Smith-32.2 ov), 4-98 (Matthew Wade-43.6 ov), 5-98 (Travis Head-46.1 ov), 6-99 (Tim Paine-47.4 ov)

At the Close - Australia lead India by two runs with four wickets in hand


Match Details

Start Time: 23:30

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Gerard Abood, David Boon

©Cricket World 2020