< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Aus v Ind 4th Test Day 2: India in dire straits on rain-hit day

Nathan Lyon celebrates with teammates after dismissing Rohit Sharma
Nathan Lyon celebrates with teammates after dismissing Rohit Sharma

India ended a truncated second day of the fourth and final Test in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at 62 for two on a rain affected day on Saturday.

At the Gabba in Brisbane, Australia were bowled out for 369 and then in response India lost their openers after a steady start.

Earlier, Australia resuming on 274 for five, were reduced to 315 for eight and were struggling. But then a fine 39 run stand for the ninth wicket between Mitchell Starc (20 n.o.) and Nathan Lyon (24) helped Australia. Even the last man Josh Hazlewood chipped in.

Overnight batsmen Cameron Green (47: 107b, 6x4) and captain Tim Pauine (50: 104b, 6x4) added 98 for the sixth wicket.

The key wicket-takers for India were debutants T Natarajan (3-78) and Washington Sundar (3-89). Shardul Thakur also claimed 3-94.

In their response India lost their openers Shubman Gill for seven. Later Rohit Sharma (44: 74b, 6x4) added 49 runs for the second wicket with Cheteshwar Pujara. Sharma played a reckless shot to be dismissed by Lyon.

Rain curtailed any chance of play in the final session of the day. Play will resume now on Sunday with India hoping to survive Australia's mean bowling attack.

Match Summary - Australia v India, 4th Test, Day 2, Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Brisbane

Australia 1st Innings: 369 (115.2)
Fall of wickets: 6-311 (Tim Paine, 99.2 ov), 7-313 (Cameron Green, 100.5 ov), 8-315 (Pat Cummins, 101.4 ov), 9-354 (Nathan Lyon, 108.2 ov), 10-369 (Josh Hazlewood, 115.2 ov)

India 1st Innings: 62-2 (26)

Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Shubman Gill-6.2 ov), 2-60 (Rohit Sharma-19.5 ov)

Close of Play: India trail Australia by 307 runs


Playing XIs

Australia: David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Matthew Wade, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (captain & wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, T Natarajan

Match Details

Start Time: 12:30

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Gabba, Brisbane

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Paul Wilson, Paul Reiffel (TV Umpire), Claire Polosak (Reserve Umpire), David Boon (Match Referee)