Australia and Sri Lanka Name Squads For Women's World Cup

Australia and Sri Lanka Name Squads For Women's World Cup
Australia and Sri Lanka Name Squads For Women's World Cup
©REUTERS/Philip Brown. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Australia Women and Sri Lanka Women have named their 15-player squads for the forthcoming ICC Women’s World Cup, which begins in Mumbai on 31st January. 

Australia, also known as the Southern Stars, start their campaign against Pakistan and have added pace bowlers Holly Ferling, Julie Hunter and Megan Schutt as well as batter Elyse Villani to the squad which won the Rose Bowl series against New Zealand before Christmas. Leah Poulton, who recently announced her retirement from ODIs, and Sharon Millanta have been left out.

Commenting on the squad, Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) Chair of Selectors Julie Savage said: “The WNSP have selected a powerful and well-balanced squad to contest the ICC Women's World Cup India 2013.

“Recent international matches suggest this will be a very closely contested event. England, as the number one ranked team, will be the tournament favourites, but the recent form of a resurgent New Zealand, as well as India on their home turf and the powerfully athletic West Indian team will provide tough contests throughout the entire event.

“The Southern Stars will need to perform strongly and consistently across all disciplines. Our batting line-up has been in good form, led by the record-breaking feats of Meg Lanning. The recent retirement of Leah Poulton from ODIs opens the way for hard-hitting Victorian batter Elyse Villani to join the squad. Elyse has been one of highest run-scorers in the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) this season, scoring those runs at an excellent strike rate.

“Our spin attack will be led by experienced all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar. Lisa was a key part of Australia's ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2012 victory in Sri Lanka earlier this season with her wily use of variation and ability to dry up the scoring rate.

“Coming into the squad to support the experienced pace trio of Ellyse Perry, Julie Hunter and Sarah Coyte is South Australian Megan Schutt. Megan made her international debut in the recent Rose Bowl Series against New Zealand and was impressive. The explosive young Queensland quick Holly Ferling completes the pace line-up,” Savage said.

Sri Lanka will be led by Shashikala Siriwardene as was the case in the ICC World Twenty20. They have included Lasanthi Madushani and Oshadi Ranasinghe in their 15-strong party and play their first match against England on 2nd February.

Australia squad: Jodie Fields (captain), Alex Blackwell (vice-captain), Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Holly Ferling, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Lisa Sthalekar, Elyse Villani.

Sri Lanka squad: Shashikala Siriwardene (captain), Sandamani Dolawatte, Dilani Manodara, Chamari Atapattu, Deepika Rasangika, Eshani Kaushalya, Chamani Seneviratna, Sripali Weerakkody, Udeshika Prabodhani, Inoka Ranaweera, Prasadani Weerakkody, Lasanthi Madushani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Sharina Ravikumar, Yasoda Mendis.

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.