< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia call up Worrall, Mennie and Tremain for South Africa ODIs

Australia call up Worrall, Mennie and Tremain for South Africa ODIs
Mitchell Starc has been rested for the ODI series against South Africa.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Australian selectors have called up the pace bowling trio of Daniel Worrall, Joe Mennie and Chris Tremain for the upcoming ODI series in South Africa after opting to rest Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood.

Apart from the rest to Starc and Hazlewood, the injury to Nathan Coulter-Nile has prompted the selectors to pick the uncapped trio.

The trio will fight for the fast bowler slots in the playing xi along with Scott Boland and John Hastings, who is expected to lead the pace attack.

Rod Marsh, the national selector said that the trio deserve their call-ups due to their impressive performances at the domestic level and in the games for Australia A.

"Chris, Joe and Daniel all had terrific summers last year and have also impressed us during the recent Australia A series with consistent performances," Marsh said.

"They are young players with a bright future who thoroughly deserve their selection and we look forward to seeing them work with John Hastings and Scott Boland, who have both performed well for Australia since returning from injury."

Meanwhile, after underwhelming performances in the ODI series against Sri Lanka, Australia have dropped Usman Khawaja for the South Africa series but have retained Travis Head.

Steven Smith returns as the captain while all-rounder Mitchell Marsh has also made a reappearance after being rested from the ODIs against Sri Lanka.

Aaron Finch, who suffered a fractured finger in the fifth ODI against Sri Lanka, is expected to recover and has been named in the squad while Glenn Maxwell continues to be on the sidelines.

Australia will begin their tour of South Africa with a lone ODI against Ireland in Benoni on 27th September and will move on to the five-match series against the Proteas between 30th September and 12th October.

Australia ODI squad for SA tour:

Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joe Mennie, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade (wkt), Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa

© Cricket World 2016