< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia Confirm World Cup Squad

Michael Clarke
Michael Clarke has until 21st February to prove his World Cup fitness
©REUTERS / Action Images

Co-hosts Australia have named their 15-man squad for the Cricket World Cup 2015 with few, if any, surprises among the selections.

They will go into the tournament as the favourites and open their campaign against England on 14th February and also play Bangladesh, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Scotland in Pool A.

Michael Clarke is named as captain despite missing the last three Tests Australia played with a hamstring injury.

George Bailey, his vice-captain, will lead the side if his absence is prolonged further although he must prove his fitness by 21st February, otherwise he will be replaced.

"We have said that if Michael has not recovered by our second match of the tournament against Bangladesh on 21 February, we will replace him in the squad," National Selector Rod Marsh confirmed.

"He understands that and is working tirelessly with medical staff to get back to fitness."

Left-armer Xavier Doherty is Australia's only specialist spinner with Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson and Mitchell Starc forming the pace bowling battery.

All-rounders Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell and Shane Watson join batsmen Clarke, Bailey, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith and David Warner. Brad Haddin is the wicket-keeper.

Marsh is expected to return to fitness in time to take part in the tri-series.

For the first time since 1999, Australia don't head into the World Cup as reignng champions after India ended their run of three wins in 1999, 2003 and 2007 nearly four years ago.

The same 15-man squad will take on England and India in the Commonwealth Bank One-Day International tri-series which begins next week.

Australia World Cup squad: Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey (vice-captain), Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazleoowd, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson

© Cricket World 2015


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep