Australia Hammer India For 350 In Hyderabad

Australia Hammer India For 350 In Hyderabad
Australia Hammer India For 350 In Hyderabad
©REUTERS/Jayanta Shaw (INDIA SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Australia 350-4 (Marsh 112, Watson 93) v India

Fifth One-Day International, Hyderabad

Shaun Marsh hit his maiden international century as Australia carted the Indian bowlers for 350 runs in the fifth One-Day International in Hyderabad.

Injury-hit Australia handed a debut to pace bowler Clinton McKay and made two other changes before winning the toss and deciding to bat first, closing on 350 for four.

Shane Watson led the early charge with 93 in 89 deliveries, his powerful shots down the ground and square of the wicket punishing some poor bowling while Marsh took time to settle in. The pair shared 145 before Watson pulled Harbhajan Singh to Ravi Jadeja but Marsh went on to make India pay.

He made 112 in as many balls, hitting eight fours and two sixes as Australia piled on the runs, helped by a poor Indian fielding display.

Ricky Ponting made 45 in 45 balls, Cameron White thumped five sixes in hitting 57 in 33 deliveries and Michael Hussey was unbeaten on 31 in 22 deliveries.

Praveen Kumar picked up two wickets with Harbhajan and Ashish Nehra grabbing one apiece but only Yuvraj and Harbhajan Singh were able to operate with any degree of economy, the other four bowlers used all going at more than seven runs per over.

Adam Voges and Ben Hilfenhaus are back in the side which is missing Moises Henriques, Peter Siddle and Mitchell Johnson while India replaced Ishant Sharma with Munaf Patel with Gautam Gambhir returning to the side in place of Virat Kohli.

The seven-match series is level at 2-2.

Australia: Shane Watson, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting (captain), Cameron White, Mike Hussey, Adam Voges, Graham Manou, Nathan Hauritz, Clinton McKay, Doug Bollinger, Ben Hilfenhaus

India: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Suresh Raina, Ravi Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel

© Cricket World 2009