< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia Name 12-Man Test Squad

Jackson Bird is in contention for a place in Australia's team for the fourth Ashes Test
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have included fast bowler Jackson Bird in a 12-man squad for the fourth Ashes Test in Chester-le-Street, which gets underway on Friday 9th August.

Bird, who has yet to play a Test in the series, is added to the 11 that drew the third match at Old Trafford and adds another option should Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc or Ryan Harris not be selected.

Nathan Lyon retains his place ahead of Ashton Agar with Ed Cowan and Phillip Hughes also left out.

Australia may decide to open the batting with David Warner and Chris Rogers, as they did in the second innings at Old Trafford with Shane Watson moving down the order.

England lead the series 2-0 and have retained the Ashes after winning the first two Tests at Trent Bridge, by 14 runs, and Lord's by 347 runs.

Australia put in a much improved showing at Old Trafford before rain wiped out most of the final day, and they were unable to mount a serious victory challenge.

Australia Test squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (vice-captain), Jackson Bird, Ryan Harris, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson

© Cricket World 2013