Australia Name Contracted Player List

Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch has been awarded a Cricket Australia central contract
©REUTERS / Action Images

Cricket Australia have confirmed the list of 18 players that have been given central contracts for the 2014-15 season.

The contracts will run from 1st July 2014, taking in a busy 12-month period which includes Tests against England, India, Pakistan and the West Indies as well as the 2015 World Cup, which Australia co-hosts with New Zealand.

Jackson Bird Misses Out

One other player missing out on a contract is fast bowler Jackson Bird. He has suffered a recurrence of a back injury and has been ruled out of action for at least six months.

This latest setback is a blow to both the player, Australia, and Northamptonshire, for whom he was due to play during the English summer.

He was contracted to play six first-class games and Northamptonshire are hoping to bring in another fast bowler with Test match experience before the English season begins later this week.

All 18 players currently hold CA contracts with Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Chris Rogers and Steve Smith earning upgrades from their current contracts.

Ed Cowan, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Clint McKay and Matthew Wade have not been awarded new central contracts while Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Alex Doolan also miss out.

Players on the central contract list will earn a AUS$250,000 retainer while those earning 'upgrade contracts' will earn AUS$ 210,000.

Players will be awarded an upgrade contract after they reach 12 upgrade points. Five points are awarded for each Test appearance, two for a One-Day International appearance and one for a Twenty20 International appearance.

"The selection of these players was based both on their performances from July 2013, a period in which Australian teams have had some very significant successes, and the expectation that they will feature prominently in the Australian Test, ODI and T20I sides during the forthcoming period," National Selector John Inverarity said.

The Memorandum of Understanding between CA and the Australian Cricketers' Associations enables CA to contract between 17 and 20 players.

Last year, 20 players were centrally contracted and eight players earned contract upgrades.

Cricket Australia 2014-15 centrally contracted players: George Bailey, Michael Clarke, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Chris Rogers, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson

© Cricket World 2014