Australia Name Twenty20 Ashes Squad

Australia celebrate a wicket
Alyssa Healy (back to camera) is included in Australia's Twenty20 squad to play England
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia Women have named a 12-player squad for the three Twenty20 Internationals that will end the multi-format Ashes contest with England later this month.

It shows very few changes from the One-Day International squad with Nicole Bolton and Rachael Haynes missing out as Alyssa Healy comes in.

Healy has been in action for the 'Shooting Stars' Under-21 side that took England on in a two-day tour game ahead of the Ashes Test in Perth, which begins on Friday 10th January.

The multi-format series comprises one Test, three ODIs and three T20Is, with a maximum of six points on offer in each format. The first team to 10 points will win The Ashes outright, although as the holders, England need nine to retain the title.

"The most recent Women’s Ashes held in England last August was decided during the T20 phase of the Series and, with the two teams so evenly matched, we expect a tough contest this time around," Cricket Australia's Chair of Selectors Julie Savage said.
"The selected squad play an exciting brand of T20 cricket. We think the Australian public will enjoy watching the stroke-play of Meg Lanning, Alex Blackwell and Elyse Villani, who have all had exceptional seasons in the domestic WT20 competition.
"Our batters will be well supported by the bowling of Ellyse Perry and Holly Ferling, whose pace is a genuine asset for the side.  
"As the number one ranked team in T20's, we continue to believe that our squad is well suited to this form of the game."

Australia Women T20I squad: Jodie Fields (captain), Meg Lanning (vice-captain), Alex Blackwell, Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani

© Cricket World 2014

Current Scoreline Australia 8-10 England England have retained The Ashes Fixtures & Results
10th-13th January: Ashes Test, Perth
ENG 201 & 190 beat AUS 207 & 123 by 61 runs
19th January: 1st ODI, Melbourne
ENG 210-3 beat AUS 209-3 by 7 wickets
23rd January: 2nd ODI, Melbourne
AUS 266-7 beat ENG 240 by 26 runs
26th January: 3rd ODI, Hobart
AUS 269-6 beat ENG 268-4 by 4 wickets
29th January: 1st T20I, Hobart
ENG 151-1 beat AUS 150-3 by 9 wickets
31st January: 2nd T20I, Melbourne
AUS 99-3 beat ENG 98-6 by 7 wickets
2nd February: 3rd T20I, Sydney
AUS 102-3 beat ENG 101-8 by 7 wickets