< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia pick Peter Siddle over Joe Mennie for Perth Test

Australia pick Peter Siddle over Joe Mennie for Perth Test
Peter Siddle last played for Australia in February.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australian captain Steven Smith has announced the playing XI for the first Test against South Africa in Perth with Victoria speedster Peter Siddle getting a nod over uncapped pacer Joe Mennie.

Siddle, who last played for Australia in the Test against New Zeland in February, had an uncertain future after he was diagnosed with stress fractures in his back which forced him to miss the most part of the action this year.

However, he returned back to play competitive cricket for his club Victoria last month in the Sheffield Shield and also in the closing stages of the Matador BBQs One-Day Cup. Australian vice-captain revealed in a press conference that Siddle has been bowling with additional pace in the net sessions.

Warner will open the batting along with Shaun Marsh, while Usman Khawaja has made a return to the side at the expense of all-rounder Moises Henriques.

Captain Smith will bat at four followed by Adam Voges and the all-rounder Mitchell Marsh while Peter Nevill will don the wicket-keeping role.

The pace attack will be bolstered by the return of Mitchell Starc, who will be partnering with Josh Hazlewood with the new ball while Nathan Lyon is the lone spinner in the line-up.

Smith said he is relieved to have the services of Siddle after a lengthy rehabilitation period.

"They're the kind of bowlers that can really tie up an end ... who can hit consistent areas and build good pressure and keep runs down," Smith told reporters at the WACA today.

"We've gone with Sidds for this Test and it's good to have him back as well after a fair injury lay-off."

Australia XI for the Perth Test

Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Shaun Marsh, Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Joe Mennie (12th man)

© Cricket World 2016