< >
Cricket Betting us

Australia Rest Clarke, Haddin, Warner

David Warner, Michael Clarke, Mitchell Johnson
David Warner (left) and Michael Clarke (centre) will take a rest while Mitchell Johnson (right) will be vice-captain in Perth
©REUTERS / Action Images

With the One-Day International series against England in the bag, Australia will rest Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin and David Warner with two games remaining.

Captain Michael Clarke will miss the fourth game of the series in Perth on Friday 24th January before joining up with the squad for the final match in Adelaide two days later while wicket-keeper Haddin and opening batsman Warner will be rested for the final two matches.

Australia lead the five-match series 3-0 following wins in Melbourne, Brisbane and Sydney.

Shane Watson will rejoin the squad for the Adelaide finale and in Clarke's absence George Bailey will captain the side at the WACA.

Matthew Wade comes into the side to replace Haddin behind the stumps and all-rounder Steve Smith joins the squad with either Wade or Shaun Marsh contenders to bat at the top of the order.

"Michael Clarke will be given a break and not go to Perth. He will re-join the ODI Squad for Adelaide, as will Shane Watson," Cricket Australia National Selector John Inverarity said.
"George Bailey will captain the team in Perth and Mitch Johnson has been appointed vice-captain for this fixture.
"Brad Haddin and David Warner will also take a well-deserved break and miss both the Perth and Adelaide ODIs.
"Steve Smith comes into the squad and would be likely to replace Michael in the middle order and Matt Wade will replace Brad Haddin.
"Two players are likely to be released from the squad following Perth when Clarke and Watson come back in."

Australia ODI squad: Michael Clarke (captain, Adelaide only), George Bailey (captain in Perth), Mitchell Johnson (vice-captain in Perth), Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson (Adelaide only)

© Cricket World 2014