Australia Ring The Changes For Final Test

Australia Ring The Changes For Final Test
Australia Ring The Changes For Final Test
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have called up Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson and John Hastings for the third and final Test against South Africa in Perth.

James Pattinson misses out through injury while batsman Rob Quiney has been left out with Shane Watson now fit to return. Johnson's recall makes the squad a 14-strong party.

The series is level at 0-0 following draws in Brisbane and Adelaide. Both pace bowlers Hastings and Hazlewood are yet to make a Test appearance for Australia although they have featured in limited overs cricket. Watson has recovered from the calf injury that kept him out of the first two matches.

Johnson has not played a Test since the Johannesburg Test against South Africa last November but on his last appearance in Perth, he scored a half-century and took nine wickets to help Australia beat England in 2010.

bet365 make Australia 13/8 favourites to win the match with South Africa 7/4 and the draw 11/5.

The NSP (National Selection Panel) has today announced a squad of 14 players for the third Vodafone Test against South Africa starting on Friday in Perth," NSP Chair John Inverarity said.
"Shane Watson is ready to play and replaces Rob Quiney, while James Pattinson was not considered for selection due to injury.
"The pace bowling stocks in the squad have been boosted with the addition of the experienced Mitchell Johnson, John Hastings and emerging paceman Josh Hazlewood.
"John Hastings, who has played 11 ODIs and three T20s in Australian colours, deserves his inclusion in the squad following his excellent recent form. In Bupa Sheffield Shield cricket he has taken 22 wickets at 18.3 and consistently scored valuable lower order runs.
"Josh Hazlewood is a very exciting 21 year old pace bowler. He debuted for NSW when he was 17 and played an ODI game for Australia at 19. He has been improving steadily this season after an injury interrupted 2011-12 season.
"There is a possibility that the final XI could include four pace bowlers. Six quicks in the squad provides some options and recognises the demanding work shouldered by Peter Siddle and Ben Hilfenhaus in the first two Vodafone Tests against South Africa."

Australia Test squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Ed Cowan, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Ben Hilfenhaus, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.