Australia Seal T20 Series With Seven-Run Win

Australia Seal T20 Series With Seven-Run Win
Australia Seal T20 Series With Seven-Run Win
©Action Images

Australia Women 134-8 beat
New Zealand Women 127-8 by 7 runs
Third Twenty20 International, Sydney

Australia Women moved into an unassailable 3-0 series lead over New Zealand Women by winning the third Twenty20 International in Sydney by seven runs.

Batting first, Australia posted 134 for eight and they then restricted New Zealand to 127 for eight in reply as Lisa Sthalekar returned four for 18.

The experienced all-rounder dismissed Suzie Bates (1), Elizabeth Perry (24), Katie Perkins (2) and Kate Broadmore (0) with her off-spin to put the brakes on the run chase.

And although Amy Satterthwaite made 45 in 40 balls and Morna Nielsen an unbeaten 21 in 12, Australia held on to take victory, effecting three run outs along the way.

Earlier, Leah Poulton (35 in 30 balls) and Alex Blackwell (41 in 43 balls) had been the main contributors to Australia's innings.

Poulton hit four fours and a six at the top of the order before Frances Mackay returned three for 18 and two wickets apiece for Kate Broadmore and Lucy Doolan launched New Zealand's fightback.

Some late runs from Sarah Coyte (11) and Jess Jonassen (14 not out) added vital late runs as Australia posted a winning score.

The two sides now play three One-Day Internationals before the final two Twenty20s on 1st and 3rd February.

© Cricket World 2012