Australia squad announced for ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup

Australia Under 19s Squad

*Denotes player has a state rookie contract

Jason Sangha (C)*

New South Wales

Will Sutherland (VC)*


Xavier Bartlett*


Max Bryant*


Jack Edwards

New South Wales

Zak Evans*


Jarrod Freeman


Ryan Hadley

New South Wales

Baxter Holt

New South Wales

Nathan McSweeney


Jonathan Merlo


Lloyd Pope*

South Australia

Jason Ralston

New South Wales

Param Uppal*

New South Wales

Austin Waugh

New South Wales

Cricket Australia (CA) has today announced Australia’s 15-player squad to compete at the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup in New Zealand.

Australia’s squad contains seven players from New South Wales, three from Victoria, three from Queensland and one each from South Australia and Tasmania. It features seven players on state rookie contracts, including captain Jason Sangha (New South Wales) and vice-captain Will Sutherland (Victoria).

Former Australian cricketers Ryan Harris and Chris Rogers will take the reins as coach and assistant coach.

Coach: Ryan Harris
Assistant Coach: Chris Rogers

Sangha, a top-order batsman, recently scored a century against England in a first-class match for the Cricket Australia XI and has played List A matches against Pakistan and Sri Lanka, while all-rounder Sutherland also represented the CA XI against Pakistan last summer, and claimed four wickets in a JLT One-Day Cup match for Victoria Bushrangers this season.

Queensland duo Xavier Bartlett and Max Bryant, New South Wales pair Sangha and Param Uppal, and Victoria all-rounder Jonathan Merlo have also played JLT Cup cricket for the CA XI over the past two summers.

The squad is selected by the Youth Selection Panel, which is chaired by National Talent Manager and National Selector Greg Chappell and features Troy Cooley, Graham Manou, Ryan Harris, in consultation with the State and Territory Talent Managers.

“I think this is a very exciting squad and there is some exceptional talent within this group,” Chappell said.

“We’ve got a good spread of skills through the squad. We’re quite strong with our pace bowling, we have good depth with our spin bowling, and a number of our top-order batsmen all offer viable bowling options, which gives us a lot of flexibility when it comes to team selection.

“These guys have all had success at underage level in Australia over a number of years, and many of them have already had a taste of international under 19 cricket. We’re fortunate that a lot of these players have already played together coming through the underage pathway, which is a great thing.

“We believe this squad has a serious chance of contending for the title at the end of the tournament.”

Australia will be out to claim the title for the first time since the 2010 tournament - which was also played in New Zealand - when Mitch Marsh captained an Australian team including the likes of Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson and Nic Maddinson.

Ten members of the Australia Under 19s squad which played against Sri Lanka Under 19s in April in Hobart have been selected, including destructive Queensland opening batsman Bryant, talented South Australia leg-spinner Lloyd Pope and New South Wales all-rounder Austin Waugh, the son of former Australia captain Steve.

Pope was the leading wicket-taker at last summer’s Under 17 and Under 19 National Championships, while Bryant scored two half-centuries for the CA XI in this season’s JLT Cup.

Bryant is also on a full contract with the Brisbane Heat, while Sutherland (Melbourne Renegades), Uppal (Sydney Thunder) and Jack Edwards (Sydney Sixers) are all on BBL rookie contracts.

All players selected have competed at the 2017-18 Cricket Australia Under 19 National Championships over the past two weeks in Tasmania - excluding Sutherland, who was a late withdrawal due to injury.

The ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup commences on 13 January, with the final to be played on 3 February.

Australia has been drawn in Pool B, and begins its World Cup campaign against India on 14 January at Tauranga’s Bay Oval, before matches against Zimbabwe on 17 January and Papua New Guinea 19 January at Lincoln Green in Christchurch.

The squad will head into camp in Brisbane in early January, before playing practice matches against Sri Lanka on 9 January and South Africa on 11 January at the Hagley Park complex in Christchurch.