< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia tour of New Zealand 2021 - All you need to Know: Squads, Fixtures & Preview

Australia tour of New Zealand 2021
Australia tour of New Zealand 2021

With Australia's home season against India, Australia's Big Bash League and New Zealand's Super Smash done and dusted, the two nations have finally found a slot to schedule the impending T20I series.

Live Scores and Stats - Australia tour of New Zealand 2021


The five-match T20I series between Australia and New Zealand will kick start at Christchurch's Hagley Park at 7.10 pm local time. While New Zealand are at full strength, apart from the injured Lockie Ferguson, Australia are without several of their first-choice players. 

Big Oz names like Mitch Starc, David Warner, Pat Cummins and Steve Smith were due to be in South Africa for a Test series that has since been postponed. That, in turn, has brought about a few opportunities for some young players, particularly for those having done well in the BBL recently.

Australia would be looking to try out a few combinations in the lead-up to the T20 World Cup in India later this year. They have brought in this year's BBL's Player of the Tournament Josh Philippe who will open the batting with Finch, who is himself short on runs. Wade will take the gloves. Mitch Marsh, Ashton Turner and Ben McDermott will also look to seal the No. 6 spot.

While spinners Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa will join forces with Jhye Richardsons and Kane Richardsons to form the Australian bowling attack, there will be chances for Riley Meredith, Jason Behrendorff, Andrew Tye and Daniel Sams as well.

New Zealand would want runs from the blade of Martin Guptill as it could be curtains for the opener if he does not do well in the series. Each of Kyle Jamieson, Boult and Southee would want to do well to be in the safe zone when tearaway Ferguson returns.

Apart from skipper Kane Williamson, Devon Conway and Kyle Jamieson will be the ones to watch out for.

After the series opener in Christchurch, the caravan will move to Dunedin before heading to the north island for the final three games in Wellington, Auckland and Mount Maunganui. By the end, both teams will have a far idea of how their personnel are shaping up for the T20 World Cup.


Here are the team squads:


Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, D'Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Below is the full fixture schedule of the series:

1st T20: Feb 22, Hagley Oval, Christchurch, 5.10pm AEDT

2nd T20: Feb 25, University of Otago Oval, Dunedin, 12noon AEDT

3rd T20: Mar 3, Sky Stadium, Wellington, 5pm AEDT

4th T20: Mar 5, Eden Park, Auckland, 5pm AEDT

5th T20: Mar 7, Bay Oval, Tauranga, 12noon AEDT

©Cricket World 2021