< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia tour of South Africa 2020: Preview, Match Schedule, Team Squads and Series Predictions


All You Need to Know Australia's tour of South Africa 2020 comprising 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs which will be played from February 21 to March 7.

These six white-ball matches will be crucial for both teams in finalizing their personnel for the T20 World Cup.

South Africa looked to have come a long way in their last T20I assignment against England. Although they lost the hard-fought series 2-1, the team gave enough signs that they will be one of the contenders in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

The opening partnership of Temba Bavuma and Quinton de Kock has clicked with both feeding of each other. The left-right combination has been communicating well and choosing the bowlers to attack.

It is then a pity for the home side that Bavuma, due to a hamstring strain, will not be available for the first match of the series. South Africa will hope that he gains full fitness and is available for the remaining matches.

This series also marks the return of former skipper Faf du Plessis. Hours after he announced stepping down as the Test and T20I captain, du Plessis was named in the T20I squad after missing the series against England. It seemed only a matter of time that despite having decided to move on with the leadership role, du Plessis was far too good a batsman to be left out in white ball cricket and a couple of good knocks in this series will keep him in the mix for the T20 World Cup.

Kagiso Rabada, after being banned for the last Test against England and resting through the LOI leg against England, is back and will hopefully have regained energy and fitness.

Tearaway Anrich Nortje has also been included in the squad. These three players come into the side at the cost of Reeza Hendricks, Buren Hendricks and Sisanda Magala.

Australia are also beginning to settle down and looked imperious at home in both the 3-match affairs against Sri Lanka and Pakistan. They were truly dominating and did not let the two teams come in a winning situation even once.

The team fared well against India in ODIs, beating the hosts in the first game of the series but lost 2-1.

They will certainly miss the services of Glenn Maxwell, who was initially included in both the squads, but will miss out due to an elbow surgery.

Aaron Finch and David Warner will continue to open the batting for them with Steve Smith and Alex Carey in the middle order. There will also be an opportunity for the Australian management to try out BBL stars Matthew Wade, Mitchell Marsh and Darcy Short.

Series Predictions


Winner - Australia (2-1)

Top Run Scorer - David Warner (Australia), Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

Top Wicket Taker - Mitchell Starc (Australia), Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa)

Most Sixes - David Warner (Australia), Quinton de Kock (South Africa)


Winner - Australia (2-1)

Top Run Scorer - Aaron Finch (Australia), Faf du Plessis (South Africa)

Top Wicket Taker - Mitchell Starc (Australia), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)

Most Sixes - Aaron Finch (Australia), Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

Here are the squads of all teams:

South Africa T20I Squad: Quinton de Kock (c/wk), Temba Bavuma (subject to fitness) Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Pite van Biljon, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Jon-Jon Smuts, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Dale Steyn, Heinrich Klaasen

Australia ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (vc), Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Darcy Short, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Australia T20I squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (vc), Pat Cummins (vc), Mitchell Marsh, Darcy Short, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Here's the complete schedule of the series:

Australia tour of South Africa, 2020

Feb 21 South Africa v Australia, 1st T20I Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg 4:00 PM

Feb 23 South Africa v Australia, 2nd T20I St George's Park, Port Elizabeth 12:30 PM

Feb 26 South Africa v Australia, 3rd T20I Newlands, Cape Town 4:00 PM

Feb 29 South Africa v Australia, 1st ODI Boland Park, Paarl 11:00 AM

Mar 04 South Africa v Australia, 2nd ODI Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein 11:00 AM

Mar 07 South Africa vs Australia, 3rd ODI Senwes Park, Potchefstroom 8:00 AM

©Cricket World 2020