< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia v South Africa 1st Test: Starc and Lyon dominate as South Africa's struggle on Day 1 at the Gabba

Australia's David Warner caught Khaya Zondo first ball
Australia's David Warner caught Khaya Zondo first ball

Travis Head's aggressive batting guides Australia to strong position in opening Test against South Africa at the GABBA.

Match Summary

Australia *145/5 (33.1 ov)

South Africa 152/10 (48.2 ov)

Day Break : Day 1 Australia trail by 7 runs.



At the close Australia were 145-5 after nightwatchman Scott Boland was dismissed last ball of the day, trailing by just seven runs.

Australian captain Pat Cummins earlier won the toss and chose to bowl on a green wicket under cloudy skies.

He would have felt vindicated by that decision after a stunning start when South Africa were reduced to 27-4 after 11 overs, a position from which they never recovered.

The only batters to defy the Australian attack were wicketkeeper Kyle Verreynne, top scorer with 64, and number four Temba Bavuma, who rescued the visitors from complete annihilation.

But once Bavuma fell for 38 midway through the second session, South Africa lost steady wickets on a surface that got faster as the day wore on.

The morning conditions had looked ideal for Australia's potent pace attack, but Mitchell Starc and Cummins were wayward early, causing no real problems for the batters.

Starc began the rout with the first ball of the third over when South African captain Dean Elgar tickled a ball down the leg side to keeper Alex Carey.

Cummins began to find his line and length and was next to strike, with Rassie van der Dussen getting a faint edge to a ball that moved off the seam to leave South Africa 27-2.

That soon became 27-3 when Sarel Erwee got a thick edge off Boland for Cameron Green to take a brilliant catch in the gully, low and to his left.

Two balls later it was 27-4 when Boland trapped Khaya Zondo lbw for a duck.

But Verreynne decided to play his strokes, and with Bavuma grafting at the other end, they began a recovery.

Australia's reply started disastrously when David Warner fell first ball of the innings after deflecting a brutal Kagiso Rabada short ball to short leg, where Zondo took a spectacular catch.

The in-form Marnus Labuschagne was next to fall, edging Marco Jansen's first ball to Elgar at second slip with the score on 18.

Anrich Nortje replaced opening bowler Lungi Ngidi and struck with his second ball when Usman Khawaja was caught at third slip by substitute fielder Simon Harmer.

After reducing South Africa to 27-4 in 11 overs, Australia found themselves 27-3 after nine overs.

But whereas South Africa's batting line-up looked vulnerable heading into the match, the Australians have been in great touch against the West Indies and Head and Steve Smith rarely looked in trouble.

But just when it looked as though they would see Australia to the close, Nortje got a ball through Smith's defences to rattle the stumps.

Match Stats

South Africa Fall of wickets1-12 (Dean Elgar - 4.1 ov), 2-27 (Rassie van der Dussen - 9.1 ov), 3-27 (Sarel Erwee - 10.4 ov), 4-27 (Khaya Zondo - 10.6 ov), 5-125 (Temba Bavuma - 34.3 ov), 6-132 (Marco Jansen - 39.5 ov), 7-135 (Keshav Maharaj - 40.6 ov), 8-139 (Kyle Verreynne - 41.6 ov), 9-145 (Anrich Nortje - 45.1 ov), 10-152 (Lungi Ngidi - 48.2 ov)

Australia: Fall of wickets: 1-0 (David Warner - 0.1 ov), 2-18 (Marnus Labuschagne - 8.1 ov), 3-27 (Usman Khawaja - 9.2 ov), 4-144 (Steven Smith - 32.2 ov), 5-145 (Scott Boland - 33.1 ov)

Playing XIs

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (WK), Pat Cummins (C), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland

South Africa: Dean Elgar (C), Sarel Erwee, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Khaya Zondo, Kyle Verreynne (WK), Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi


Match Details:

DateSaturday, December 17, 2022 00:20

Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane

Toss: Australia won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand) Rod Tucker (Australia) Richard Kettleborough (England TV)

Match Referee: Richie Richardson (West Indies)

© Cricket World 2022