< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia vs England, 2nd T20I: Dawid Malan stars in England win

Ali and Malan in action for England
Ali and Malan in action for England

Dawid Malan combined with Moeen Ali to put England in a strong position, as Sam Curran caused Australia some trouble, England winning by 8 runs.

Match Summary

Australia vs England, 2nd T20I, England tour of Australia

Australia 170/6 (20 ov)

England 178/7 (20 ov)

Result - England won by 8 runs.


Australia won the toss and elected to field, proving a wise decision early on as Marcus Stoinis (3/34) and Pat Cummins (1/29) had some impact.

Dawid Malan (82) joined the fray and put on a hugely important half century for England to get them back into this one.

Moeen Ali (44) added some runs later on to see England to 178/7, giving them some hope heading into Australia's innings.

Getting started Reece Topley (1/35) and David Willey (1/21) took control of things, putting Australia on the back foot.

Mitchell Marsh (45) and Marcus Stoinis (22) made a strong partnership to even things up.

Tim David (40) added much needed runs but it wasn't quite enough, Sam Curran finishing on 3/25, as Australia fell short, England winning by 8 runs.

Match Stats

Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Jos Buttler - 3.1 ov), 2-31 (Alex Hales - 4.1 ov), 3-53 (Ben Stokes - 7.4 ov), 4-54 (Harry Brook - 8.1 ov), 5-146 (Moeen Ali - 16.5 ov), 6-158 (Sam Curran - 18.4 ov), 7-171 (Dawid Malan - 19.3 ov)

Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Aaron Finch - 3.4 ov), 2-22 (David Warner - 4.1 ov), 3-51 (Glenn Maxwell - 7.5 ov), 4-91 (Marcus Stoinis - 11.4 ov), 5-114 (Mitchell Marsh - 14.1 ov), 6-145 (Tim David - 17.2 ov)

Playing XI

AUSTRALIA - Matthew Wade (WK), David Warner, Aaron Finch (C), Tim David, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins

ENGLAND - Jos Buttler (WK/C), Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley

Match Details

Date - 12th October, 09:10 AM

Venue - Manuka Oval, Canberra

Toss - Australia won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Donovan Koch, Phillip Gillespie

© Cricket World 2022