< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia vs Sri Lanka, Match 3: Richardson sets up Australia win

Australia's Kane Richardson 3-21
Australia's Kane Richardson 3-21
Sri Lanka's Dasun Shanaka 39*
Sri Lanka's Dasun Shanaka 39*
Aaron Finch in action
Aaron Finch in action

A bowling masterclass from Kane Richardson put Australia in a great position, as Finch and Maxwell scored some important runs to see them to a 6 wicket win over Sri Lanka today at the Manuka Oval, Canberra.

Match Summary

Australia vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I, Sri Lanka tour of Australia

Australia 124/4 (16.5 ov)

Sri Lanka 121/6 (20 ov)

Result - Australia won by 6 wickets


Australia won the toss and put Sri Lanka in to bat, Kane Richardson (3/21) taking control early on as both openers were gone quickly.

Sri Lanka never really got going until Dinesh Chandimal (25) and Dasun Shanaka (39*) added some crucial runs later on.

Sri Lanka went in at 121/6, leaving their bowlers with an uphill struggle.

In response, it looked as if Sri Lanka were ready to rise to the challenge, Ben McDermott gone on the first ball.

Aaron Finch (35) and Glenn Maxwell (39) took the match away from Sri Lanka though.

Australia walked away with a 6 wicket win and the series, taking an unassailable 3-0 lead in the 5 match series.

Match Stats

Sri Lanka Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Danushka Gunathilaka - 2.1 ov), 2-23 (Charith Asalanka - 2.5 ov), 3-38 (Kusal Mendis - 6.3 ov), 4-40 (Pathum Nissanka - 7.2 ov), 5-87 (Dinesh Chandimal - 16.1 ov), 6-115 (Chamika Karunaratne - 19.3 ov) 

Australia Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ben McDermott - 0.1 ov), 2-26 (Ashton Agar - 4.4 ov), 3-76 (Glenn Maxwell - 10.4 ov), 4-102 (Aaron Finch - 14.1 ov)

Playing XIs

Australia - Aaron Finch(c), Ben McDermott, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade(wk), Daniel Sams, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood

Sri Lanka - Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal(wk), Dasun Shanaka(c), Chamika Karunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Nuwan Thushara


Match Details

Start Time: 08:10

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Officials: Rodney Tucker, Shawn Craig, Sam Nogajski, Donovan Koch, David Boon

© Cricket World 2022