< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia win 4th Test at Old Trafford by 185 runs and retain the Ashes

Australia's players celebrate the wicket of England's Craig Overton to win the match and retain the Ashes

Australia won the 4th Test ,at Old Trafford, against England by 185 runs and retained the Ashes today.

Match Summary

Australia 497- 8 dec (Marnus Labuschagne 67, Steven Smith 211, Tim Paine 58, Mitchell Starc 54*; Stuart Broad 3- 97) and 186 – 6 dec (Steve Smith 82; Archer 3-45)

England 301 (Rory Burns 81, Joe Root 71, Buttler 41; Josh Hazlewood 4-57) and 197 (Joe Denly 53; Pat Cummins 4-43)

Result – Australia won by 185 runs



Australia retained the Ashes today at Old Trafford by beating England by 185 runs – England were bowled out for 197 putting up stubborn resistance until there were only 14 overs remaining in the match. However, when Overton was LBW to Hazlewood, England’s Ashes dreams were over.

Joe Denly 53 top scored for England in their valiant effort to draw the 4th Test and Pat Cummins 4-43 was the main wicket taker for Australia.

England have the opportunity to hit back at the Aussies and level the series, on Thursday , when the 5th and final Test of the series begins at the Oval.

There may be some wholesale changes to the England side, particularly with the batting, as the selectors look to the future and replace a Test batting line up that has failed away in the Caribbean and at home to Australia this year.


Match Details

England - Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Joe Root(c), Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow(wk), Jos Buttler, Craig Overton, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach

Australia - David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine(c)(wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

Officials: Handunnettige Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Robert Bailey, Javagal Srinath

©Cricket World 2019