Australia Win Final Ashes Twenty20

Rene Farrell picked up four wickets to help Australia clinch victory in the final Twenty20 International
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia 102-3 (Villani 36no) beat
England 101-8 (Farrell 4-15) by seven wickets
Third Women's Ashes T20 International, Sydney

Australia beat England by seven wickets in the third and final Women's Ashes Twenty20 International in Sydney.

It meant that they have won both the One-Day International and Twenty20 International series 2-1 but England prevailed in the multi-format Ashes series 10-8, winning the Test match that began the series.

At the ANZ Stadium, England posted 101 for eight and Australia chased their target down with nine balls to spare.

Australia won the toss and chose to bowl and as they had done in the second game in Melbourne, they struggled, only managing to post 101 for eight.

Women's Ashes series results

1934-5: Australia 0-2 England
1937: England 1-1 Australia
1949-50: Australia 1-0 England
1951: England 1-1 Australia
1957-8: Australia 0-0 Australia
1963: England 1-0 Australia
1968-9: Australia 0-0 England
1976: England 0-0 Australia
1984-5: Australia 2-1 England
1987: England 0-1 Australia
1991-2: Australia 1-0 England
1998: England 0-0 Australia
2001: England 0-2 Australia
2002-3; Australia 1-0 England
2005: England 1-0 Australia
2007-8: Australia 1-0 England
2009: England 0-0 Australia
2010-11: Australia 1-0 England
2013: England 12-4 Australia
2013-14: Australia 8-10 England

Test series until 2013 points-based multi-format system introduced

Rene Farrell was outstanding for the hosts, claiming figures of four for 15 as Natalie Sciver top scored with 28 for the tourists.

Farrell struck in just the second over to dismiss Lauren Winfield without scoring and then dealt England a crushing double-blow with the scalps of Charlotte Edwards (12) and Lydia Greenway (0).

Sarah Taylor made 22 to try to launch a recovery before she was caught by Nicole Bolton off Megan Schutt.

A superb one-handed catch by Lanning saw off Arran Brindle for six and Sciver was looking in good touch before her run out in the 15th over effectively left England struggling to reach three figures.

When Danielle Wyatt (6) was also run out they were 79 for six and it took Jenny Gunn (11 not out) and Danielle Hazell to steer them past the 100-run mark.

England's injury-hit bowling line-up - missing Katherine Brunt, Natasha Farrant and Anya Shrubsole - tried hard to defend their modest score but were undone by Australia's top order.

Ellyse Villani played the leading role with an unbeaten 36 while Meg Lanning (23) and Alyss Healy (23) helped set up the victory.

Openers Villani and Healy put on 48 together at the top of the order to put Australia in complete control.

Healy fell when she was caught by Greenway off Brindle only for Lanning to hit three fours in quick time during her innings.

She departed in the 14th over with Bolton (6) the only other wicket to fall as Alex Blackwell (10 not out) helped Villani see Australia home in 18.3 overs.

Ellyse Perry was named as the player of the Women's Ashes series and Farrell the player of the match.

© Cricket World 2014