< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia win thriller off last ball against India to take 1st T20I in Visakhapatnam

Glenn Maxwell 56 for Australia today against India

Australia won the toss and decided to field against India in the 1st T20I at the ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam today.

Match Summary

India 126-7 (KL Rahul 50, MS Dhoni 29*; Nathan Coulter-Nile 3-26, Adam Zampa 1-22, Pat Cummins 1-19, Jason Behrendorff 1-16)

Australia 127-7    (D'Arcy Short 37, Glenn Maxwell 56; Jasprit Bumrah 3-16, Krunal Pandya 1-17)

Result - Australia won by 3 wickets


Series Stats


Some great bowling from the Australians kept India to a miserly 126-7 in their 20 overs - KL Rahul (50) and MS Dhoni (29*) top scoring and Nathan Coulter-Nile 3-26, Adam Zampa 1-22, Pat Cummins 1-19 and Jason Behrendorff 1-16 the pick of the Aussie bowlers.

In reply, Australia were in some trouble at 5-2, however, D'Arcy Short (37) and Glenn Maxwell (56) put on 84 for the 3rd wicket to give Australia a chance – however, 2 quick wickets went down and Australia were then 105- 5 in the 16th over still needing 22 to win. With Handscomb out for 13 in the 18th over, the Aussies still required 14 to win off the last over with 3 wickets in hand after Coulter-Nile was bowled off the last ball of Jasprit Bumrah’s excellent spell of 3-16 off 4 overs.

It was a last over thriller, Australia needed 2 to win off the last ball and a great fightback by India but Austraila scrambled 2 runs off the last ball to win the 1st T20I of the series, by 3 wickets.


India - Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni(wk), Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia - Aaron Finch(c), D'Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Handscomb(wk), Ashton Turner, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa

©Cricket World 2019