< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia Women announce unchanged squad for South Africa ODI series

Australia Women announce unchanged squad for South Africa ODI series
Meg Lanning will continue to lead the Southern Stars
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia Women have announced an unchanged 13-member squad for the first three One-Day Internationals of the upcoming five-match series against South Africa Women at home.

The Southern Stars have already secured an automatic qualification for the ICC Women's World Cup in England in 2017 following their 5-0 series whitewash against Sri Lanka Women recently.

The first three matches of the upcoming series will be considered for the ICC Women's Championship which is currently topped by Meg Lanning's team with 128 points while South Africa are placed sixth with 91 points.

With only the top four teams are allowed an automatic qualification for the next year's World Cup, South Africa will have to win all the three matches in the series and rely on the other results to favour them.

The International Cricket Council has already announced that Australia will be presented with the Championship Trophy at the end of the third ODI of the series after they have taken an unassailable lead at the top.

The squad for the remaining two games of the series will be announced after the conclusion of Round three of the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) in mid November.

National Selector Shawn Flegler said the performance of players in the WNCL has been heartening and is hoping for more players to grab their spots in the final two games of the series.

“The NSP has been pleased with the form shown by the players in the early rounds of the WNCL with all players amongst the runs and wickets for their state sides.

“We have left the door open for other players to continue to press for selection in the final two games with strong performances in the third round of the WNCL.”

Southern Stars squad for first three ODIs

Meg Lanning (captain), Alex Blackwell (vc), Kristen Beams, Nicole Bolton, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani

© Cricket World 2016

Official Cricket Australia Website