< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Australia wrap-up 3rd Test by 279 runs against New Zealand at the SCG

Australia wrap-up 3rd Test by 279 runs against New Zealand at the SCG

Australia won the 3rd Test, at the Sydney Cricket Ground, against New Zealand in convincing style by 279 runs to take the series 3-0.

Match Summary

Australia 454  (Marnus Labuschagne 215, Steve Smith 63, David Warner 45; Colin de Grandhomme 3-78, Neil Wagner 3-66) and 217-2 (David Warner 111*, Marnus Labuschagne 59, Joe Burns 40)

New Zealand – 251 (Tom Latham 49, Glenn Phillips 52; Nathan Lyon 5-68, Pat Cummins 3-44) and 136-9 (Colin de Grandhomme 52, Nathan Lyon 5-50, Mitchell Starc 3-25)

Result - Australia won by 279 runs


Australia added 177 runs to their overnight score of 40-0, losing the wickets of Joe Burns 40 and Marnus Labuschagne 59, before their declaration on 217-2. David Warner was the not out batsman on 111*

New Zealand were then undone in their second innings by the experience of Nathan Lyon 5-50 and Mitchell Starc 3-25 as they were bundled out for just 136-9, with Matt Henry injured and unable to bat.

ICC World Test Championship

Australia have grabbed a full 120 points from their series against New Zealand and are firmly placed in second position on the ICC World Test Championship points table.

Australia are on 296 points after completing the 3-0 series win and only behind India, who are on 360 points from three series. Australia had earlier gained a full 120 points in a two-match home series against Pakistan and earned 56 for a 2-2 draw with England.

New Zealand remain on 60 points after two series, having split points for a 1-1 series draw with Sri Lanka earlier on. Sri Lanka and Pakistan are slightly ahead with 80 points each.

Each series of the WTC is worth 120 points, distributed evenly over the number of matches in a series. The points range from 60 points for each match of a two-Test series to 24 for each match of a five-Test series.

England and South Africa, currently engaged in a four-Test series which hosts South Africa lead 1-0, are on 56 and 30 points, respectively, while the West Indies and Bangladesh have yet to earn a point after one series each, played against India.

The top two teams at the end of the league will play the final in the UK in June 2021 with the winners crowned the World Test Champions.



Australia - David Warner, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade, Travis Head, Tim Paine(c)(wk), Pat Cummins, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon

New Zealand - Tom Latham(c), Tom Blundell, Jeet Raval, Ross Taylor, Glenn Phillips, BJ Watling(wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Todd Astle, William Somerville, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner


Match Details


Start Time: 23:30

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Officials: Aleem Dar, Marais Erasmus, Nigel Llong, Shawn Craig, Richard Richardson


©Cricket World 2020